archival and resource material for human powered recumbent tricycles

Dutch ICE

Hans Rot runs an informative website at the following internet address:

http://rotsopdriewielen.blogspot.com/

It is in Dutch, thus you may wish to translate it, which works well enough for understanding, but of course, these automatic translation softwares only go so far. Anyway, Hans owns an ICE Vortex, which he rides to work. Here is a photo of his high speed green machine during a very cold winter’s day, followed by some translated text from Hans (to learn about his cold weather clothing, visit the website and scroll down to this photograph):

Dutch ICE

“When I left this morning to go to work it was -10 ° C for revelatory right concepts very cold. Because there was hardly any wind did not feel very cold. That’s not so cold to the touch is also due to the Shimano SH-MW81 winter shoes and the AGU TEC2 gloves. Shimano SH-MW81 winter shoes I wear now for the second winter. As in the previous winter, these shoes in this winter period, my feet are kept warm. The AGU TEC2 gloves I have at the beginning of this winter purchased. These gloves are called wind-and waterproof. But they are hot! They keep my hands warm that even at -10 ° C or in an icy east wind still sweating! How the watertightness in the rain, I have not experienced. Well that sweat also can not go out.The gloves are thus eventually damp with sweat.The downside is that after a few times already contribute quite smelly. But cold or numb fingers I have not had, and that was me. On Friday, I work half a day. That means I’m at the end of the morning back home bike. Take pictures do not do often, but this time I had planned to shoot some pictures of the winter landscape along my commuting route. And actually, I have kept to this intention. For me that’s a lot, because I’m more from drive :). In this so.”

Comments are closed.