archival and resource material for human powered recumbent tricycles

Look ma, no mesh!

Once back from my most recent overland trike jaunt, it was once again time to start sanitizing the beast … you know, things like cleaning the chain, pulling wires out of the tires, wiping off the dust, stuff like that. Things that we all live for, right? Well, something I have never done during the nearly 3 years of owning this fine ICE Q trike is really clean up the mesh on my recumbent seat.

What got me inspired to do such a menial task with so many other aspects of life pressing me for attention? The mesh is held in place behind the seat by 14 straps, and after the straps go through the buckles, a little “O” ring holds the excess from flapping wildly in the breeze. Over time, these little buggers dry up, crack, and eventually just fall off, leaving the strap end dangling. Recently, I noticed a number dangling issues asking to be treated.

I dealt with a few of these many months ago, but without removing the seat, they are difficult to access unless they are at the ends of the seat. This time, there were so many breaking that I just figured, heck, may as well replace them all proactively, and while I’m at it, might as well just toss the mesh into the washer for the first time since production back in 2007.

Sure enough, the mesh, especially where it circled around the seat tubes, was loaded with years of dust and grime. And it was very inflexible with all that dirt embedded in it. I acquired 14 new extra heavy duty O rings at True Value, washed and dried the mesh on gentle cycle and low heat for 20 minutes, and am now set to go! The mesh is flexible as the day it was new, and mighty clean to boot. What an exciting little diversion from typing all day.

 Looks kind of weird with no mesh, huh ma?

Comments are closed.