archival and resource material for human powered recumbent tricycles

Water Bottle Holder

Now and then I am asked about the water bottle holder on my trike, probably because it holds two bottles instead of the usual one bottle of most holders. Last week, I had another inquiry, so thought it might help to provide closer photos of just the holder without the bottles in the way. This is a custom made holder, using a stout piece of aluminum, bent as shown. The two connection points at the rear came standard on my 2007 ICE, and for the front connection I just used a hose clamp, with a piece of thick rubber material to keep the holder from scratching the frame. There is also a small piece of that rubber material where the frame transitions from red to bare aluminum.

Two bottles are nice to have so handy. On a hot day, I can go through one bottle of water rapidly. When I head out overland for multiple days, I also carry two Camelbak 100 ounce water bladders, one behind each side of the driver’s seat, with feeder tubes on each side. The extra bottle of water adds weight, but without water, the ride will be short lived.

  1. Water Bottle Holder 1Water Bottle Holder 2Water Bottle Holder 3

Comments are closed.