Trike Hobo cruising neighborhood on Bigfoot

Fatrikes are awesomely comfortable on pavement! Plus, they really show up well …

An easy local residential cruise on the exceptionally mega-comfy mega-trike is a great way to spend a lazy summer afternoon in August. Fatrikes are always a blast to ride!

Near a quiet intersection in the rural neighborhood, a local pedestrian is aghast at this gigantic human-powered contraption I am pedaling! How do you steer, she wonders. Where is the motor, she asks. It looks more comfortable than a bicycle, she comments. I sit and just smile, sharing the triking lifestyle with all interested people I meet who express curiosity about my mode of humble transport. Every time I get on this trike, regardless of where I am going, the comfort factor just pops out in my consciousness every time, and it’s wonderful to be looking at sedan drivers eye to eye, rather than being hidden below their passenger window. Drivers simply cannot miss seeing a fatrike cruising the roads. This trike may be slower than my former speed trikes, and it may not accelerate in lightning fast seconds like the Catrike 700 I once enjoyed, but in all other arenas, I am content with the purchase. Yep, just riding this fatrike brings a smile to my face! Photos by John Gardner (who rides a mountain bike with front suspension).

About trike hobo

Steve Greene is a naturalist, philosopher, and teller of tales. He pursues absolute truth in all things, modifying his existence as supported by legitimate evidence. His ideological foundation rests on the respect of life, as he follows a path of health, serenity, and maximum functional longevity. He has authored eleven books, and is a noted authority on Death Valley National Park, human powered recumbent cycle touring, fitness and longevity, and professional law enforcement. Steve has not owned a petroleum powered automobile since 2008, as part of his environmental preservation paradigm. He eats an organic vegan diet, exercises regularly, and enjoys exploring the wilderness. Harmony with nature tops his priorities. To learn more about Steve, please visit: http://wildsteve.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Triker's World. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Trike Hobo cruising neighborhood on Bigfoot

  1. Dan Brown says:

    Hey Steve, what happened to your helmet ?

  2. armadillozack says:

    I get that every time I go to the Winn Dixie on my Armored Armadillo for groceries .. Besides that I am pulling a Trailer which I load my coolers and stock my meat and chicken, and other assorted foods to keep me going for a month or two…I also have a Cargo Rack which I load up which I load two storage tubs that I put dry goods and sundries in so I am pretty loaded going home.. So I create a lot of rubber neckers as I am pulling up with my Catrike Fat Cat Quad and trailer… I get a lot of people as well asking where is the engine, and how many miles to the gallon do I get… It’s fun and I also turn them onto Utah Trikes so they can become a bent rider as well..!
    Armadillo Zack

  3. Bill Sprague says:

    That’s it, Steve. You’ve done it. You’ve convinced me that I need a fat tired trike and maybe even another incarnation of Bigfoot. I keep reading and learning and asking myself, why not learn from those who’ve been this way before? I’d certainly like to learn more about Bigfoot’s road manners and how I could pack him into my 4Runner for trips to the trail heads. My interim touring trike will probably be an AZUB T-Tris 26, because the AZUB folks actually tour themselves and understand the needs. I’m quite new to this trike enterprise but I’m a quick study. Sadly, my knowledge is increasing faster than my fitness.

  4. Rusty Knorr says:

    Keep the Azub fat trike at the top of your list! I think their design has advantages over the ICE version. I will be building one up as soon as it ships to me and Steve and I can compare and contrast the two designs. I can’t wait to go fatX3!!!

  5. trike hobo says:

    Howdy Bill,

    If you wish to learn more about my experiences with the ICE fatrike, there are some pages here on Trike Asylum that share what I’ve found. On the main menubar, under the “SteveStuff” menu item, you will see a “Bigfoot” option (Bigfoot is my pet name for this monster trike). From that Bigfoot menu item, several others appear when your mouse hovers over it. I was able to get this foldable fatrike into a Chevrolet Equinox, a rather small SUV that a friend of mine owns. I had to remove the right front wheel in addition to the folding, but it worked. My suspicion is that a folding fatrike would probably fit inside a 4Runner, but can’t say for sure. Here is a photo of Bigfoot inside the rear of the Chevrolet Equinox:
    fatrike in little SUV
    The key to a fatrike fitting inside a small SUV is whether or not it can be folded.

  6. trike hobo says:

    Hi there Dan,

    Well, sometimes on these local residential streets, which rarely see car traffic, I just throw caution to the wind. I wasn’t even wearing my cycling shoes either – just regular Asics running shoes, which work fine for tootling around the neighborhood for short jaunts because of the Shimano pedals I have (they have a small platform circling the cleat attachment area). This trike is so big and intimidating that auto drivers flee at the very sight of it, realizing that I am the king of the road ;-)

  7. trike hobo says:

    The Azub fatrike was at the top of my list originally when I was selecting an off-road triking option back in early 2015. I was debating between the Azub, ICE, and also a Scorpion Enduro (a non-fat tire trike). I may well have gone for the Azub, but it was not yet in production, and I was planning a remote cross-country fatrike trek at the time (and it’s kind of hard to figure out what one needs if there isn’t even a trike yet). ICE was just ramping up its first production run, and so I ordered one of those (but still had to wait four months to get it). Both 26-inch fatrikes are now available with solid backgrounds, so you get to pick what works best for you! The Azub is an excellent fatrike from reports I have received from Mark Waters of Backcountry Recumbent Cycles in Bend, Oregon.

Comments are closed.