ICE Neckrest Commentary

My Wyoming triking pal Steven Telck has reported back to me with his impressions of the ICE suspension-style neckrest – this after he was finding that the traditional compression-style rests used by nearly all manufacturers were not meeting his personal comfort needs. Steven asked for my humble two-cents worth on neckrests, so I gave him my thoughts, wherein I recommended the ICE suspension neckrest. Steven has an ICE trike, so it was a natural anyway. He was using a custom neckrest (compression style) by a regional manufacturer, but sought more comfort. As I have used both styles of neckrests personally on my trike expeditions over thousands of miles, and clearly prefer the suspension type, I told Steven that trying a suspension neckrest might be just the solution he needed for more comfort.

So, the Wyoming ICEman went ahead and ordered an ICE neckrest for his ICE trike from the boys and girls over across the ocean at ICE. After mounting his new neckrest, and trying some different adjustments, he sent me an email, which follows below, along with a photograph of the new ICE neckrest on his ICE trike:

“The ICE head rest is uncomfortable.  My neck seems to be contacting the rails, and every darn bump is jarring and uncomfortable.  I have tried many different heights and angles to the dangle so to speak, and still can not find a comfortable location for the head rest. It all has me terribly confused and disappointed.  I am glad I opened the plastic bag from ICE carefully, as I think I will need to send this unit back.  Thanks Trike Hobo for your suggestion to try a suspension head rest as it was worth the try, but it just isn’t working out for me. I have taken a photo to help illustrate my dilemma. My only hope is that maybe you can figure out what I’m doing wrong in my adjustments by looking at the photo. Perhaps I’m missing something here.”

Okay readers, if you have any suggestions for the Wyoming ICEman, feel free to leave a comment to this post. I think I may have figured out a solution for Steven, telling him that it looks to be tilted back way too far, and to move it forward by about six inches – but, maybe some astute trike pilot out there can see something I may be missing also. I feel so bad for Steven, having recommended this solution that isn’t working for him. I do hope we can all find him a satisfying and happy ending to his comfort problem! Hang in there Steven – we’ll figure it out fer ya’ …

About trike hobo

Steve Greene is a naturalist, philosopher, and teller of tales. He pursues absolute truth in all things, modifying his existence as supported by legitimate evidence. His ideological foundation rests on the respect of life, as he follows a path of health, serenity, and maximum functional longevity. He has authored eleven books, and is a noted authority on Death Valley National Park, human powered recumbent cycle touring, fitness and longevity, and professional law enforcement. Steve has not owned a petroleum powered automobile since 2008, as part of his environmental preservation paradigm. He eats an organic vegan diet, exercises regularly, and enjoys exploring the wilderness. Harmony with nature tops his priorities. To learn more about Steve, please visit: http://wildsteve.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Triker's World. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to ICE Neckrest Commentary

  1. Robert says:

    Obviously a pool noodle needs to be used to make the headrest more comfortable. Also about 20 feet of duct tape for a secure fit.

  2. Chantal Sakay says:

    It looks to me like it is mounted backwards!!

  3. Bent700 says:

    From the picture, it looks like to me that the pad is facing backwards towards the rear tire thus causing you to place your neck of the rails. Try taking the neck rest off and turn it around with the pad facing the front of the trike and make adjustments from that point.. Hope this helps.

  4. Norm says:

    Try riding backwards on the rear rack.

  5. Bill Sprague says:

    Aren’t those neck rests designed to accommodate your favorite sports team sofa pillow in the jaw-like gap in the front? That way you can have the feeling of relaxing in front of the TV and you never really know you’re (whisper) exercising. I think a Wyoming Cowboys throw pillow would fit right in that gap. I hear they are redesigning those pillows for the fall season to incorporate Bluetooth speakers. Those will repel wildlife while keeping the rider oblivious to what’s going on around him/her. They’ll offer a fringed or fringe free model, depending on the wind profile you want to present.

  6. daytriker says:

    Oh Jeez, it is so obvious, I’m surprised no one else has spotted it. Happens to me all the time when I hit bumps & pot holes. There’s too much air pressure in your tires! :)

  7. Yvo says:

    Is this a joke? If not used by a person sitting on the luggage carrier it’s obvious that the headrest is facing backwards ! Just turn it around and you get comfy.

  8. Richard Sanabia says:

    Geez. Pull up, turn one-eight-zero degrees, re-insert…..

  9. Dan Brown says:

    Certain iron rods are just softer than other iron rods, enjoy the ride.

  10. Alonzo Savage says:

    You’d think for the price they charge for these things that they would at least include a decent translation into American so whatever you do don’t try to find your way around their website, it’s been incomprehensible for months even for us Brits.

  11. armadillozack says:

    It is obviously installed backwards and needs to be taken off and turned around so that the neck pad is facing forward.. Not as tragic as it may seem, and needs no rocket scientist to install properly… And if you are not familiar with working with tools, go down to your local bike shop, and I wouldn’t think you will even be charged for the service.. It’s only about a 5 min. job, and the shop will gain a client for any other problems should you need their help…! It’s not as great a deal as you may think…!
    Armadillo Zack

Trikers are welcome to comment ... spammers get lost!

