Making a custom flag for your recumbent trike!

About trike hobo

Steve Greene is a naturalist, philosopher, and teller of tales. He pursues absolute truth in all things, modifying his existence as supported by legitimate evidence. His ideological foundation rests on the respect of life, as he follows a path of health, serenity, and maximum functional longevity. He has authored eleven books, and is a noted authority on Death Valley National Park, human powered recumbent cycle touring, fitness and longevity, and professional law enforcement. Steve has not owned a petroleum powered automobile since 2008, as part of his environmental preservation paradigm. He eats an organic vegan diet, exercises regularly, and enjoys exploring the wilderness. Harmony with nature tops his priorities. To learn more about Steve, please visit: http://wildsteve.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Triker's World. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Making a custom flag for your recumbent trike!

  1. Rodger says:

    Hola

    I fully support making or having a “Custom Flag” for all to use or have.

    What I Do Not support is for the Custom Flag to be stiff so that it does not flutter. No Fluttering means that it can not be see by any only approaching you from the rear as you ride along.

    A stiff Custom Flag may be great for parades where folks are all going sloooow and the side lines are looking at you.

  2. Ed Miller says:

    ‘Roger’ nailed the comment! Flags serve a purpose, and while this presentation has good information and shows some good technique, this flag would be better serves as a ‘show’ flag for audience (on the side) viewing (again, as Roger pointed out).

    I use the term, “dance” when describing the fluttering movement of a flag which gives the flag ‘body’ when viewed from the all-important’ rear.

    Rip stop Nylon can be cut with a hot knife which will not only cut the fabric but will help to ‘seal’ the edges in the heated-cutting process.

  3. armadillozack says:

    I don’t know maybe I lost something in the translation from English, to English.. I don’t recall her saying any thing about being stiff so that it would not flutter in the wind.. What I did hear was she was creating a stiff crease in order to sew the pole side crease neatly…! I am all in favor of flags on my bent, and as a matter of fact, I just recently bought another Arizona whip for another flag… You see I am a big fan of the Florida Gators, and I just was sent another flag from the tailgating club so I needed another whip.. And in case you don’t know what a Arizona whip is, it is a lighted whip with a bunch of led lights in it that run off a 9v battery you know one of those small rectangular transistor radio batteries.. Boy does it get noticed at night as well as during the day with those big orange Gator flag’s flapping in the breeze as I go down the road.. So I am very happy with them.. They weren’t meant to be hung on a Arizona whips so I had to fit them to size so they would fit, but I think I did a pretty good job on them by hand, and that is as far as my sewing skills allows me, and I would not know what to do with a sewing machine if I had one.. I remember having to do a project for home economics class, on a sewing machine, but that was 40 + yrs. ago and I don’t remember a thing today… Lmao…!
    Armadillo Zack

  4. trike hobo says:

    Here is the link to an Arizona Whip posting on Trike Asylum back in 2011:

    https://trikeasylum.wordpress.com/2011/03/21/arizona-whip-lighted-flagpole/

    and here is the link to the Arizona Whip company website:

    http://www.arizonawhips.com/whips.html

Comments are closed.