54.73 miles per hour on a recumbent tadpole trike!

Specter Trike Recumbent Racer

About trike hobo

Steve Greene is a naturalist, philosopher, and teller of tales. He pursues absolute truth in all things, modifying his existence as supported by legitimate evidence. His ideological foundation rests on the respect of life, as he follows a path of health, serenity, and maximum functional longevity. He has authored eleven books, and is a noted authority on Death Valley National Park, human powered recumbent cycle touring, fitness and longevity, and professional law enforcement. Steve has not owned a petroleum powered automobile since 2008, as part of his environmental preservation paradigm. He eats an organic vegan diet, exercises regularly, and enjoys exploring the wilderness. Harmony with nature tops his priorities. To learn more about Steve, please visit: http://wildsteve.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Triker's World. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to 54.73 miles per hour on a recumbent tadpole trike!

  1. Now that is a bit misleading. I expected to see a tadpole trike similar to what I ride. And I ride 70 mph on mine frequently. Well, in my dreams anyway. :)

  2. buckyboydog says:

    That trike looks like it was made for the speed test. I feel pretty good just getting to 15 miles per hour on mine. Where can I buy one like that ?

  3. Vicki Stone says:

    it goes about 55 MPH, but needs to be pushed off to start????

  4. armadillozack says:

    That sprocket on it’s mid drive has to be at least 12″ in. in dia., which would cause a major problem for anyone our age… Just the thought of having to try pumping out a single stroke, leaves me feeling feeble…! I’m sorry did I say 12″ in. in diameter, it’s more like 16″ in. in diameter after reviewing the video a second time… Lmao…!
    Armadillo Zack

  5. trike hobo says:

    With its ultra high gearing, I would imagine that it would be a bear to get going from a standstill, thus the push to make it easier for the pilot (saves his energy for attaining maximum race speed, rather than tiring his quadriceps to initiate motion).

  6. trike hobo says:

    You’re gonna’ have to make one of these yourself, just like these folks did. Custom one-off speed record vehicles will never see the light of day with normal manufacturers. It’s only good for one thing, and few could afford it anyway. Did you notice how there is no window in this fairing? The pilot sees though the use of a tiny camera mounted outside, and a view screen inside his cockpit.

  7. trike hobo says:

    It ain’t age that is the determining factor. It’s fitness level. But in any event, yes, a large diameter sprocket is a killer to sustain for any length of time. Fortunately, this famous stretch of pavement is perfectly flat!

  8. trike hobo says:

    Can you imagine the speed this trike would attain on a downhill mountain pass? Just before it crashes, that is ;-)

  9. armadillozack says:

    Hay I’m not ashamed to say I am to old to be making those kind of efforts, and most of my friends would agree.. You just get to that time in life when you are happy to be able to trek along with the pack and be able to finish the ride.. As one becomes more mature, you realize your not a kid anymore, or you just can’t face reality that life has gone by you already… You just do the best you can, and if someone pokes fun at you for not being young enough to do these record breaking rides, laugh at them because time will catch up with them as well… Besides Lycra and spandex just looks awful on older men, and should be only worn by younger women…!

  10. trike hobo says:

    Yep, most folks typically think lycra and spandex look awful on older men, and I would agree, because the majority of older men do not take care of their physical bodies. I’ve seen men at the beach in Speedo trunks and had to turn my head away! As always, I can only speak for myself, so I will, as an ambassador of maximum functional longevity and ultimate health and physical fitness: I am in my sixty-seventh year of life as a human on this little cosmic lava rock, and I look awesome in lycra and spandex, far better in fact than the typical American male in his twenties. A couple of years ago I pulled into an outdoor eating area of a local hangout on my Catrike 700. A very distinguished couple of gentlemen with white hair dressed in business attire walked up, and one asked if I minded revealing my age. I said not at all, realizing he had seen my partially white beard, and when I told him, his jaw dropped, and he was very complimentary. These two town leaders were in decent shape, but couldn’t believe my age (I happened to be dressed in a lycra/spandex cycling outfit that day for a photo shoot). I am telling this story not to boost my ego or any attempt at self glorification, but rather to spread the word to let younger folks know that the typically-told mindset that age causes all kinds of physical problems and unavoidable disintegration is simply NOT true. Younger people will believe, as I did growing up, that age is going to be our downfall, and there is nothing we can do about it. I want to spread the word that if a person respects their physical body and takes great care of it, the body will continue to provide a solid base of operation for many years, even decades, beyond what is typically thought possible. Whether someone looks good in lycra or spandex is totally dependent on the physical condition of the body, not on a chronological age that represents the number of years since birth. I want younger and impressionable folks to realize that the sad scene we as a wealthy nation have come to view, where most people are fat and in ill health, is not some kind of an unavoidable reality that we must learn to accept. It is not! Aside from those who suffer a debilitating accident of some sort, rendering them incapable of exercise, we make our own personal choices of how healthy and physically fit we will be, and remain through life. Even those who have been crippled through accident can still choose to eat healthily, thereby supporting a longer lifespan. In my sixty-seventh year of life, I am not what one would call a kid anymore, that much is certain, but I can get on a human-powered trike and pedal as far as I want, my physical endurance limits exceed earlier times in my life, and I continue to pump iron several times each week – a lifestyle I took up in 1968, now in my forty-ninth year of serious weight training and bodybuilding. My current dietary regimen is superior to my earlier years, and is serving to advance my goals of maximum functional longevity, and reveal what the human body is actually capable of if respected and cared for well. My personal belief is that I have a duty to dispel the erroneous notion that age brings us down, so that new generations of people will have hope for their futures, and not think that by the time they get to their sixties or seventies they might as well start looking at grave plots in the local cemetery. We all experience our own realities, and most of us will continue to physically degrade far too young, but I respectfully request that we not continue to spread the insidious and destructive idea to our younger folks that by “thus and such age” you will be having all kinds of issues and problems – this does a tremendous disservice to those who would believe it (which is most folks), and sets them up for premature physical failure because they think it’s beyond their control, which it is not. We make our own personal choices, and we live with the consequences, but we must not lead others who may not know better to think that they have no choices or say in the matter. Unless one has been physically compromised through accident or truly unavoidable misfortune, one’s future physical condition is an open book of hope and vitality! By the time I hit seventy, just around the corner, I fully expect to be in better physical condition than I am now, and it is this mindset that provides fertile grounds for success and continued vitality. The physical body will treat the psychological person with the same degree of responsiveness as the person treats the body. Okay, that’s enough of my soapbox lecture for today … just sayin’

Comments are closed.