Bicycle jerseys converted to tricycle jerseys

Do you have some bicycle jerseys with pockets in the rear over your rear-end, the type of apparel with pockets that are absolutely useless on a recumbent trike? They don’t do much good if you are sitting on them. If you still ride a bicycle, then you can still use the jerseys for that time-honored activity, but if you have happily converted to recumbent tricycles exclusively, opting for comfort regardless of distance ridden, then what about the bicycle-specific pockets-in-back jerseys you have from those archaic two-wheeling days?

Well, Aussie triker Jen Fleming has solved this dilemma in a unique manner! Here is what she has to say, followed by a photo of her wearing one of her quite useful conversions:

Hi trikers,
Coming from a two-wheel cycling background, I was left with all these bright Lycra shirts that didn’t work on the recumbent trike. Hence, I removed the middle pocket from the back of a few shirts and sewed it on the front like a kangaroo pouch. In this photo I have my phone and wallet in the pouch, which is very handy. I also drop my sunglasses in it at times when my face gets too hot to wear them, then they are easy to put on and off. I still have two remaining pockets on the back if I chose to swap vehicles, and opt for a bike ride. No, I’m not selling these. It is merely an idea for those ex-bicyclists who have a lot of shirts with useless pockets in the back. I find it very handy.
Jen Fleming (Jen’s TA page)

About trike hobo

Steve Greene is a naturalist, philosopher, and teller of tales. He pursues absolute truth in all things, modifying his existence as supported by legitimate evidence. His ideological foundation rests on the respect of life, as he follows a path of health, serenity, and maximum functional longevity. He has authored ten books, and is a noted authority on Death Valley National Park, human powered recumbent cycle touring, fitness and longevity, and professional law enforcement. Steve has not owned a petroleum powered automobile since 2008, as part of his environmental preservation paradigm. He eats a vegan diet, exercises regularly, and enjoys exploring the wilderness. Harmony with nature tops his priorities. To learn more about Steve, please visit: http://wildsteve.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Triker's World. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Bicycle jerseys converted to tricycle jerseys

  1. Anonymous says:

    Quit a good idea! Hopefully someone will start making themoney and sell them online for those of us who are not sewing enthusiasts……

  2. armadillozack says:

    I was never into the biking apparel of which you see many a cyclist wearing when speeding along with a group of fellow riders, and all dressed close to, if not alike bike wear.. I never even given it that much thought either..! I had a bike with a rack, and before that, a bike with a basket, and I always kept my wallet in my back pocket, and any thing else needed, was carried on my bike it self.. It’s funny sort of, as you go from tricycle to bicycle, and back to tricycle again, and again I have still not given it much thought as to specific bike wear, or apparel… I figure if you need to cart it along with you, than you will either buy a bag, or basket, or even some kind of holder that attaches to your handle bars, but a specific shirt or blouse to wear while biking, or trike-ing never entered my mind..! And I bet they cost a pretty good penny as well…! I would guess if there is a dollar to be made by a fashion for bike wear, or apparel, some one has made a buck of it… Just not a buck of my hard earned money… I just want to say if you feel the need to wear a specific wardrobe for bicycling, or tricycling, you go right ahead, it doesn’t bother me a bit, and you can ride with me in all you want, and I still won’t feel the need to buy anything like that in order to ride my ride of choice…
    Armadillo Zack

Comments are closed.