Ready for some night riding?

Have a monster fatrike? Want to ride it at night? Want to be seen by crazy car drivers? Want the “cool” factor to soar off the charts? Do as Craig Sandison has done on his ICE Full Fat! Says Craig: “Fitted some led lights to my full fat looks awesome like a spaceship gliding around.”

About trike hobo

Steve Greene is a naturalist, philosopher, and teller of tales. He pursues absolute truth in all things, modifying his existence as supported by legitimate evidence. His ideological foundation rests on the respect of life, as he follows a path of health, serenity, and maximum functional longevity. He has authored eleven books, and is a noted authority on Death Valley National Park, human powered recumbent cycle touring, fitness and longevity, and professional law enforcement. Steve has not owned a petroleum powered automobile since 2008, as part of his environmental preservation paradigm. He eats an organic vegan diet, exercises regularly, and enjoys exploring the wilderness. Harmony with nature tops his priorities. To learn more about Steve, please visit: http://wildsteve.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Triker's World. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Ready for some night riding?

  1. leafsailors ghost says:

    I Have a green speed I did something similar , I used the flashing tubes green ,blue red and white I ran the blue and red up my flag yes it is fun and it helps a lot to be noticed , I ride a lot at night after work, the blue and red flashing really makes folks slow down chuckle

  2. frank8265 says:

    It may look cool, but it’s illegal here.
    If I were to ride like that at night, I would be sponsoring the Christmas ball of the local police. :(

  3. trike hobo says:

    Okay, so I am now wondering two things: 1) To Craig, where do you live that allows this? and 2) To Frank, where is it illegal? I wonder what the rationale is for declaring this illegal on human powered bicycles and tricycles.

  4. Frank F says:

    Us Franks agree, In Oregon trikes, bikes hpv’s have to abide by the state motor vehicle laws. In the ORS light colors of blue, green and others are prohibited on cars. Blue would get you a ticket faster since it is reserved for the police. Medford police have specifically mentioned that on their tv show. Blue headlights are also ticketed. White in front, red in the rear amber all around. Many years ago I remember hearing, in my velo club the police were even ticketing for red flashing lights.Fortunately that stopped. Of the 350 members of my velo club I have never heard lately of a colored light causing a ticket. However at safety classes I have mentioned I often ride at night in warm weather, everyone looks shocked. I suspect 99.9% riders are daytime only riders.You might get away with colored lights during the day. I would not try it in Jackson County OR at night. A major income source for small towns are tickets. Last winter I had a cop I knew, intently staring at me as I was coming up to a stop sign during the daytime. I had a black bandana covering my face. Riding my Gold Rush Replica recumbent bike I made sure I put my foot down at the stop. He was visibly disappointed. I always have flashing front and rear lights on when riding.

  5. Frank F says:

    Here is more info, than you would ever want to know, by state on blue lights https://www.supernovabikelight.com/statutes/

  6. armadillozack says:

    As I suspected here in the State of Florida, there is no longer an restrictions to any light colors what so ever… I could have red and blue with white, and still no Florida restrictions what so ever… As a matter of a fact, as soon as I received my ride, I went out to buy lights as I was not happy with the selection that my dealer had, so I went to the local bike shop and they were to expensive to buy lights there, so on the way home I stopped off at a local k-mart and they had a whole selection of headlights tails, and flashing, including ones to put on your safety flag.. So I gathered up around $20 -$30.00 worth of lighting, and when I got home set to work adding them to my Q-4.. At first I was only concerned about being visible to cars and trucks who share our roadways, but soon after I was hearing these stories about how riders were being ticketed by police, I was a little concerned at first to tell you the truth, but after listening to horror stories of how people were getting run down because they were worried about such laws and went with only bike helmet lights, and when seeing that I said to hell with the police I rather get a ticket then getting run down by someone who forgot even on vacation drunk driving rules still are in effect for visitors as well as locals… But I was never pulled over for any of my lights, even when one of my neighbors said they thought the circus come to town when I road past his house… Well with that comment, it was enough for me to look for the best of lighting I could use, and safety marker lights as well but to tone it down a little bit, but not so not to be noticed by cars and trucks, and police be dammed if they ticket me, as of yet I still was unsure of the law so I just added lights with out making my ride look as though that I was with the circus on my over head bar I had one red light, and on the seat shoulder height I added red, white, and blue lights in 2 sections left, and right and they are still on my ride to this day I did however add 2 sets left and right on the rear rack as well… But was never ticketed at any time….! And now for the first time I read hear that in Florida they don’t care if you have any color arrangement or just any one particular color so long as you have lights on your ride of choice….
    Armadillo Zack

  7. frank8265 says:

    Here in the Netherlands the official law states that you are only allowed white lights at the front and red lights at the back. Officially, even flashing lights are illegal but will be allowed. If I were to ride with multicoloured lights or lights at the side of my trike, police would be pulling me over as often as they can.

Comments are closed.