The Overland Triker: updated, revised, expanded!

I’m spending WAY too much time on this computer – just ask my local cycling buddies Matt Jensen and Ed Wade, who ask me to do a scenic 50 mile ride with them on a sunny day, but I tell them, believe it or not, that I have digital work to do. So, they go have a fun day without me. Well, I’m here to tell ya’ today that the time has passed, and I’m really ready to get out on Bigfoot and do some backcountry exploring with good friends! Word has it that you go blind from computer usage, and I believe it, not to mention that the body gets soft and fat just sitting in an office chair all day. My computer work is nearly wrapped up, and I’m excited.

THE COMPREHENSIVE HOW-TO TRIKE TOUR MANUAL FOR ADVENTURERS, EXPLORERS, AND ROAD HOBOS!

What am I wrapping up? Some of you are familiar with a book I did in 2012, published by a company called iUniverse: it was called The Overland Triker. Okay, so in the last five years, I’ve learned more, some things I said in that 2012 book have proven false, and there were other things that needed updating. To my self, I mumbled at the end of November 2016, “I can make this book better!” That is what I set out to do on December first. On February first of this year, the new 2017 edition of The Overland Triker has become reality for anyone crazy enough to want to pedal long distances for days on end … on nothing more than a tricycle. It’s loads of fun, but let me tell ya’, it’s also very HARD work! BTW: the new edition is 192 more pages, has a lot more fun stuff to read and learn, and the cost is two US dollars less than the old one.

OLD ONE:

TOT Sidebar

The previous 2012 edition is being discontinued.

Oh yeah, I forgot to mention that a tiny handful of readers of the 2012 edition voiced opinions that I was philosophizing too much in that first book, and one indicated that if he wanted to learn philosophy, he would have bought a textbook instead. Another said that only 20 pages of the original 334 were actually about trike touring (not accurate, but point taken). Well, I took all that to heart, because yes, it’s true, I do tend to get over-zealous at times expressing things that could be a wee bit controversial or offensive, and I proceeded to remove most of that stuff that prompted those critics (few as they were) to rate the book only one star (it’s tough being an author, because you can’t make everyone happy). Good thing enough readers rated it higher, so it wasn’t a total flop. I’ve eaten humble-pie, and republished the book this week. So now we have a new one.

NEW ONE:

overland-triker-cover-200

The 2017 edition, newly updated, revised, and expanded. Click book to learn more.

The 2017 edition of The Overland Triker is now 526 pages with 57 full-page photographs, and packs in more than 25,000 additional words. Okay, so yeah, more is being said, but lots of the philosophy is gone (not all, but most), the chapters have been updated as necessary, and a new Part Two of the book begins about half-way in, and this section is all new stuff. In it are three guest chapters by some experienced overland triker folks who know the ropes from many years of pedaling the open roads of adventure. There is a new story relating day-by-day trike touring too.

If you wish to learn more, click HERE to visit the TA page revealing this new edition.

In the end, two months of slave computer labor have created a rebirth of the original, and it won’t be long now until I’m up in those mountains with Ed and Matt, living this stuff instead of writing about it. Sure, I’ll take some photos to share later, and maybe write-up a thing or two, but my fatrike is screaming to be ridden, and I must answer the call while those fattie tires still have air left in them. Okay, fellow trike pilots of Planet Earth, time to ride …

Old Triker Dude on Tour

It’s hard work, but hey, it’s fun out there! By the way, if the rider in this photo is reading this, let us know who you are, where you were going, and how long it took. Gee, that’s a BOB trailer!

About trike hobo

Steve Greene is a naturalist, philosopher, and teller of tales. He pursues absolute truth in all things, modifying his existence as supported by legitimate evidence. His ideological foundation rests on the respect of life, as he follows a path of health, serenity, and maximum functional longevity. He has authored eleven books, and is a noted authority on Death Valley National Park, human powered recumbent cycle touring, fitness and longevity, and professional law enforcement. Steve has not owned a petroleum powered automobile since 2008, as part of his environmental preservation paradigm. He eats an organic vegan diet, exercises regularly, and enjoys exploring the wilderness. Harmony with nature tops his priorities. To learn more about Steve, please visit: http://wildsteve.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Triker's World. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Overland Triker: updated, revised, expanded!

  1. Gene Garrison says:

    Steve… I found a travel journal written by this fellow. His name is Douglas Coulter and his write-up is very interesting. Here’s the link to his journal at the crazyguyonabike website: https://www.crazyguyonabike.com/doc/?o=tS&doc_id=11183&v=2y

Comments are closed.