Radical Design Cyclone trike trailer

About trike hobo

Steve Greene is a naturalist, philosopher, and teller of tales. He pursues absolute truth in all things, modifying his existence as supported by legitimate evidence. His ideological foundation rests on the respect of life, as he follows a path of health, serenity, and maximum functional longevity. He has authored ten books, and is a noted authority on Death Valley National Park, human powered recumbent cycle touring, fitness and longevity, and professional law enforcement. Steve has not owned a petroleum powered automobile since 2008, as part of his environmental preservation paradigm. He eats a vegan diet, exercises regularly, and enjoys exploring the wilderness. Harmony with nature tops his priorities. To learn more about Steve, please visit: http://wildsteve.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Triker's World. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Radical Design Cyclone trike trailer

  1. Nipper Nips says:

    I much prefer side pods, on my trikes. The load is evenly distributed in the pods and, substantially, out of the wind stream versus everything about a trailer. I’ll add panniers and a trunk to increase cargo carrying capacity and preserve optimum balance of load. Why, in the name of safety and sanity, would anyone attempt steep ascents and descents pulling an off-axis load? Trailers seem to be just a gimmick and a “cash grab” attempt, IMO. (Triking for 10 years on Rans Trizard, TW Bents Trident and Performer JC-70.)

  2. armadillozack says:

    Very utilitarian….! It is a trailer with a lot of calling… I may have bought one of these if I had seen it sooner… But then again I would not be able to haul as much grocery as I do now.. But still I can see the benefits of all it’s transforming from one valuable asset to another…! I like the looks of it as well… It certainly proves it’s worth, being visually attractive besides all it’s other qualities….. So will this be your be your trailer…? Which ever you choose I wish you the best of luck with it, and as I always say May you have many a mile all filled with a smile…….!
    Armadillo Zack

  3. trike hobo says:

    Hi Nipper Nips,

    I agree on the side pods. Under the ‘Trike Tour’ menu option above, I have quite a bit to say about touring and cargo considerations. Check it out when you have time.

    BTW, your name is an interesting one. I like it. It is certainly unique.

    See ya’ …
    steve

  4. daytriker says:

    Nipper Nips, obviously if high speed descents is your goal then a trailer would not be your first choice in additional equipment to add to your trike but for many a trailer adds considerable versatility. Whether your choice is to haul around your kiddies, the family dog, a disadvantaged passenger, groceries, camping gear or a small personal enterprise, a trailer can be just the ticket for mobility & convenience. As for the drawbacks of course there can be some but many trailers now have such excellent built in features that living with the minor inconveniences out weighs those drawbacks. Having owned & camped with trailers & panniers I prefer to eliminate as much ‘stuff’ as I possibly can for the ultimate in convenience but I sure miss having the kitchen sink when I need it. A trailer also makes organizing & finding your items far better than panniers which somehow always seem to hide that essential tool when you need it most.

  5. Nipper Nips says:

    Steve,
    Thanks, for your positive comments to my “side pods versus trailers” posting. :) I’m located in the land of snow, cycling paths and a few other trikers, in Ottawa, Canada. Actually, we “chatted,” on this site, years ago and when I was riding a KMX X style trike, my first tadpole…….many miles and trikes ago! ;) Merry Christmas, to you and yours.
    Nipper

    Daytriker,
    “Obviously,” you’ve bought into the marketing claims, for trailers, to where you can’t see the forest for the trees. Whether you can admit it or not, negotiating hills is a common feature of cycling, for 80% of cyclists, and needs to be addressed when considering add-ons. Merry Christmas, to you, too.
    Nipper

Comments are closed.