If I Had a Chicken …

You’ve probably all watched the book trailer for my latest, and most likely last, book, Bush Triker. Well, below is the revised version of this crazy visual presentation, which includes a whole new musical score, along with added video footage from Azub and HP Velotechnik. The new music is a light-hearted piano medley, reminiscent of an old-time comedy skit, perhaps even the Keystone Cops, if you can remember back that far. Anyway, I like the new feel of this trailer much better than the original, which has been shortened two minutes over the original, to a concise 4:14 version.

So, what’s with the title of this post? If I had a chicken? Boy, that’s really weird. Okay, here is the little story of why I did all this modification (you know by now that I always have a little story about things, and this is no exception ;-)

The original Bush Triker trailer featured a soundtrack by Australian didgeridoo master David Hudson. I have been in contact with him a couple of times since 2013 via email. Well, he granted me permission to use one of his cool didgeridoo songs, so that was the backdrop of the original trailer. Turns out that the YouTube posting of that video came up with a copyright issue from an Australian musician’s copyright agency, which covers David’s music (I posted it both on Vimeo and YouTube). In such instances, YouTube installs commercials over videos of people who use copyrighted and protected music. Personally, I prefer not to have my video presentations plastered with commercials, which distract from the video, and cause viewers to miss part of the video as they move their cursor to dismiss the annoying ad box by clicking the “X”

Three weeks after filing my complaint with the copyright agency, where I informed them of David’s permission (after all, he is the artist they are protecting from copyright infringement), they responded, saying that my plea was denied. Interesting. This meant that to retain David’s song as the musical score would keep those pesky and unwanted ads appearing on the video, which was not an option in my head. Thus, I set out this week to remedy the situation.

In so doing, I shortened the video a bit, but retaining all the prior information. I also added some cool footage from Azub and Jan ŽĎÁNSKÝ on Siberia’s Lake Baikal, along with HP Velotechnik Scorpion Enduro fs26 riders Doran BAR and Alexander KRAFT smoking through the deep forests of Germany (all riders appear in the book, by the way). But what’s with the “If I Had a Chicken” title? Well, the new musical score is a copyright-free piece from Kevin MacLeod, and that is the fun title he calls it, as it is indeed a fun and foot-tapping piece that is perfect for this presentation.

These days, I definitely prefer Vimeo for my cinematic presentations. Vimeo is a top-notch organization. They don’t do ads over member’s videos. My music was legitimately used, and Vimeo had no issue with it, but YouTube, which is over-run by millions of everyday videographers across the planet, gets real sticky with things. So sticky that even though I had personal permission, it did not matter. The reason I still even use YouTube is because I have a few hundred subscribers to the channel, so I don’t want to keep them out of the loop. Also, many of my shorter clips are not too interesting to most folks, and I opt not to upload them to Vimeo, which is more professional in its operation and what is presented there, geared more towards cinematographers than the social masses of YouTube that load all manner of bizarre stuff on it.

All right, that’s the latest story, like it or not! So, without further adieu, maximize the following Vimeo video to full screen (using the little arrows next to the Vimeo word in the bottom bar), sit back, and fill yourself in total tricycle rapture and joy for the next four minutes or so …

See ya’ …

About trike hobo

Steve Greene is a naturalist, philosopher, and teller of tales. He pursues absolute truth in all things, modifying his existence as supported by legitimate evidence. His ideological foundation rests on the respect of life, as he follows a path of health, serenity, and maximum functional longevity. He has authored eleven books, and is a noted authority on Death Valley National Park, human powered recumbent cycle touring, fitness and longevity, and professional law enforcement. Steve has not owned a petroleum powered automobile since 2008, as part of his environmental preservation paradigm. He eats an organic vegan diet, exercises regularly, and enjoys exploring the wilderness. Harmony with nature tops his priorities. To learn more about Steve, please visit: http://wildsteve.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Triker's World. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to If I Had a Chicken …

  1. Great video Steve and the music is great too. It makes me want to get out there riding. I will stick to riding on pavement though.

  2. trike hobo says:

    I admire your restraint, meaning the will to remain on paved motorways and paths. I’ve had my fill of automobiles, and am really enjoying the more wild places around my neck of the woods. One BIG consideration that you have in your favor Steve is that you have all those wonderful car-free paved paths throughout and around your city environment, which allows the same type of relaxation to be had on a fatrike in the dirt (and your machine stays a lot cleaner to, haha). I am envious of all the paved cycling paths you speak of in your postings! The small town where I live has very few of these, and on a trike, it doesn’t take too long to ride them all, and then realize you want more. I think the larger cities are more inclined, due to higher populations and more finances, to create safe pedestrian and cycle paths. From the photos you have posted over the years on your website, it seems you can ride for hours on your pathways, free from noisy and annoying auto traffic. What a lucky guy you are! Once your knees are back up to snuff, I’m sure you’ll be out there once again, roaming the greenways like a champ!

Comments are closed.