Utah Trikes Fat Tad Crawler – join the fatrike revolution!

More manufacturers are coming on board with fatrike models. Here is a unique custom solution from Utah Trikes, starting at $2599.00 USD, which can be delivered right to your front door. Dream about backcountry adventures no more – start taking them in real life!

Utah Trikes Fat Tad Crawler 02

According to Utah Trikes: “Looking for a trike that can go anywhere? With huge 26×4 tires, the Fat Tad Crawler smoothly rides over the obstacles with high ground clearance. The huge tires can run with very low pressure for high traction on the beach or in the snow. The Fat Tad Crawler makes a great off-road and off-season trike for the year-round rider. We made our first Fat Tire trike several years ago when the large tires became all the rage for riding in the snow and sand. Then we started making our Fat Cat Quads and the response has been tremendous. Since then we have been determined to make a custom model TRIKE that had big HUGE tires front and rear. Our customers have been asking about it for a few years and now it is here. The most noticeable thing about the Fat Tad Crawler are, of course, the HUGE tires. It was tough, but we managed to cram 26×4-inch tires on this BEAST! With a pressure range of 8psi to 20psi you can choose a super soft ride with LOTS of traction, or fill ’em up for fast road speeds. Don’t let the knobby-looking tread fool you, this trike is fast on the roads as well as out in the dirt. This particular Crawler features a Nuvinci hub and a rack. Your upgrade options are endless!

fat-tad-crawler

Utah Trikes Fat Tad Crawler 03

Learn more about this trike HERE.

About trike hobo

Steve Greene is a naturalist, philosopher, and teller of tales. He pursues absolute truth in all things, modifying his existence as supported by legitimate evidence. His ideological foundation rests on the respect of life, as he follows a path of health, serenity, and maximum functional longevity. He has authored eleven books, and is a noted authority on Death Valley National Park, human powered recumbent cycle touring, fitness and longevity, and professional law enforcement. Steve has not owned a petroleum powered automobile since 2008, as part of his environmental preservation paradigm. He eats an organic vegan diet, exercises regularly, and enjoys exploring the wilderness. Harmony with nature tops his priorities. To learn more about Steve, please visit: http://wildsteve.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Triker's World. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Utah Trikes Fat Tad Crawler – join the fatrike revolution!

  1. Dan Brown says:

    Esthetically I just don’t seem to like a fat tire bike. They look too fat, slow, heavy and not too speedy. I like slim , hard tires and light weight.

  2. trike hobo says:

    Hi Dan!

    Yes, for folks in a hurry, fatrikes are not the first choice. I liken them to a CJ-5 Jeep (or Rubicon) compared to a Corvette sports car. The foundational choice in acquiring a recumbent tricycle is the rider’s end-use, or the use of highest priority. If I want to go fast, I would choose a Corvette in my example (of which I have owned two during my life). If I wish to explore the backcountry, I would choose a Jeep (also among my former petroleum vehicles). It’s somewhat akin to comparing whether I like apples or oranges – I enjoy both, yet they provide different sensory delights. For backcountry exploration and fun, beyond pavement, speed is not an issue for discussion at all. It’s all about crawling around and exploring. For commuting or long distance treks, on pavement, speed is typically an issue for the majority of cyclists (and motorists I might add). Pavement riding is frequently associated with going fast and light.

    I have found fatrikes to be exceptionally comfortable, especially my fully suspended one. And it is comfortable even off pavement in rugged terrain. My former trike was a Catrike 700, about as fast as they come, but the rigid, non-suspended design, accompanied by the thin high-pressure tires, made it only bearable on exceptionally smooth paved surfaces. Even on chip-sealed pavement, it was very jittery and uncomfortable, especially if my neck was resting against the neckrest. But again, the purpose of the 700 is totally different than that of the fatrike. Interestingly, my fatrike is actually quite fast however. The 26 inch rear drive wheel, with its 29-30 inch diameter fat tire, cranks out an admirable top-end speed. Of course, it requires much more physical effort from the pilot to maintain that speed – but, it can go fast if I find myself inclined to have a bit of sport with another rider.

    On occasion, I take long distance trike journeys, and my impression at this point of fatrike ownership is that I would not hesitate to ride this trike on an overland trek. Its comfort factor is off the charts fantastic, and the other huge benefit is that I am FAR more visible to motorists on the pavement than I ever could have hoped to be on my former street trikes. The safety and comfort factors are notable with this trike. Yes, it is heavy: 49 pounds compared to my Catrike 700’s 33 pounds, but, as with all things in life, compromises are always present. The ICE fatrike is so much fun to ride, so comfortable, and so highly visible to car drivers, that it’s hard to imagine returning to what I have ridden in the past. Yep, sure enough, I’m slow these days (compared to before), but I’m having a lot more fun, AND, I can ride beyond the pavement to explore neat little hidden wild places that I never could see with the street trikes. The versatility of a fatrike is mind-boggling, a kind of “go anywhere” machine that is more like a standard vehicle than a bicycle or tricycle. From pedaling over curbs or rocks to riding around town on errands, the main word that comes to my mind is FUN.

    Like with my old Jeep, I gave up the speed of Corvettes for the love of the wild. It all came down to aspects of life I wanted to live, and getting away from the jungle of paved humanity was high on my list of priorities. Yet, we are all different. Speed is no longer important for me, but it still holds a place in the minds of many. So, we ask ourselves what our end-goal is, and get the trike that meets those needs. I have enjoyed all the trikes I’ve owned and ridden, and I think that this is a main point – trikes are loads of fun no matter what kind they are, how relatively heavy they are, or how fast they are. Everyone comes away with a big grin after riding a recumbent tricycle (unless, of course, they are newbies, and suffering from the dreaded “Recumbent Butt” from riding too many hours ;-)

    Okay, enough of this rant. See ya’ …

    steve

Comments are closed.