Fatrike Forum member trikes

The Fatrike Forum is steadily growing, now with 80 members as I type this sentence to you. Some members have non-fat trikes that they convert for more backcountry ability by installing larger tires, but most of them are gravitating to the fat tires for maximum fun and capability beyond the pavement. Here are a few photos Fatrike Forum members have taken of their rides. They are having loads of fun exploring places that were formerly challenging to them on standard recumbent trikes. Snow, sand, gravel, mud, and dirt are all new realms open for adventuring.

fatrike-forum-member-01

Owned by a member calling himself FatrikeNJ, above is a bush trike he describes as follows: “That’s my Trident Terrain 26 with some upgrades. I put VEE snowshie XXL 4.8″ knobbies on it, a 22/32/42 triple crank (165mm) and I swapped out the BB5’s with BB7’s and the heavy duty Jagwire mountain pro cables and housings. Big difference! I’m in Northern New Jersey. I recently swapped the knobbies for the VEE speedster road flicks and the trike is actually pretty fast all things considered! Those tires roll almost silently on the pavement and roll fast! They are 3.6″ wide but they look a lot wider than that!” FatrikeNJ calls northern New Jersey home.

~

fatrike-forum-member-04

fatrike-forum-member-05

Ridden by a member calling himself Mt_Top, above is a bush trike he describes as follows: “The Sun Seeker Fat Tad with 20″ x 4″ knobby tires. Just did a couple mile test ride in the snow and rain today. The local bike shop got this one in stock and sold it before it was completely assembled. New owner is a lucky guy! Wanted to start a Sun Seeker thread and post some pics so others could see another Fatrike choice.” Mt_Top calls Idaho home.

~

fatrike-forum-member-03 fatrike-forum-member-02

Owned by a member named Larry, this ICE Full Fat is his second. This Full Fat has the Rohloff rear hub and single chainring up front. His first Full Fat had the standard derailleur systems front and rear. Larry calls eastern Iowa home.

~

revy-trickers-full-fat

Owned by a member calling himself Revy Tricker, this ICE fatrike is just the ticket for getting him deep into the backwoods. Yep, this is the kind of fun and adventure that awaits anyone who makes the move into the fascinating world of fatrikes! This sure beats thousands of annoying cars, not to mention that these trikes are SOOO comfortable compared to standard skinny tire trikes.

Visit Fatrike Forum HERE if you are interested in pedaling beyond pavement.

Oh, and lest anyone wonder whether new life triking experiences are out there on bush trikes, check out this rugged backcountry friend that Mt_Top came across in Idaho while pedaling the outback:

fatrike-member-06

Very cool indeed – so get off the pavement and see another side of things instead of road shoulders!

About trike hobo

Steve Greene is a naturalist, philosopher, and teller of tales. He pursues absolute truth in all things, modifying his existence as supported by legitimate evidence. His ideological foundation rests on the respect of life, as he follows a path of health, serenity, and maximum functional longevity. He has authored ten books, and is a noted authority on Death Valley National Park, human powered recumbent cycle touring, fitness and longevity, and professional law enforcement. Steve has not owned a petroleum powered automobile since 2008, as part of his environmental preservation paradigm. He eats a vegan diet, exercises regularly, and enjoys exploring the wilderness. Harmony with nature tops his priorities. To learn more about Steve, please visit: http://wildsteve.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Triker's World. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Fatrike Forum member trikes

  1. Dan Brown says:

    Those guys are just not friendly animals.

  2. Hey guys, now I am a confirmed Triker, and love my Modified E-Trike which is a 6 year old Catrike Road. I have converted it from a 20″ rear wheel to a 26″ one with a Utah Trike Kit, and also electrified it with a 48V 1000W kit from eBay. Now I have always been a “lover of Mountain Bikes”, and have done a whole lot of riding off road on my 2 Wheel Mountain Bike in the past.

    Now due to a serious Bike/Car accident a few years ago, I have had to settle for a Trike. I do love my E-Catrike, but can’t imagine taking it off road on any Trail. Most of the off road Trails around here in the NW, are single track ones, and anything wider than a 2 wheel bike, walker, or even a horse would certainly cause severe problems for a 3 wheel/track rider.

    Now on the snow or on a sandy beach which we do have available in nearby locations, Yes, most definitely yes, but on most if not all the trails here in the NW would a Trike be appropriate. Even if the trail was wide enough for 3 wheels/tracks, just the need to swerve to avoid obstacles would be very difficult, not to even mention the severe angle one would have to ride on a trike compared to a 2 wheel mountain bike.

    However, I do admire the looks and ingenuity of the Fat Trikes, and would love to have one to ride on the road, if just for the comfort and appearance.

  3. trike hobo says:

    Hi Bob,

    I’m sorry to hear of your accident, but happy to hear that you have not given up cycling, replacing the mountain bike with the trike. You might catch a little flack from some folks on your view of “settling” for a trike however. Trikes are a whole world unto themselves, offering up a unique, and exceptionally comfortable, manner of exploring the outback. I live in the northwest of the USA, and find my fatrike a very capable vehicle for exploring the Coast Range on all kinds of dirt roads, trails, and even single-track. I never settled for the trike – in fact, I deliberately chose it instead of a mountain bike for all the benefits it offers, one of which is being able to comfortably pack a few cargo panniers on it and head off into the boonies for a few days. I kind of see my fat tire trike as a self-contained outback utility trike (SCOUT) that provides me the method to attain off-the-grid adventure far from the crowds of town.

    You bring up a valid point in the off-camber aspect of trikes. Whereas a mountain bike remains vertical on off-camber trails, a fatrike or mountain trike will take on the angle of the hill, and if great enough, will indeed roll down the hill. That is probably the most troubling aspect of trikes over bikes. The fatrike has an advantage over bikes with mountain bike tires, as the skinny tires of the mountain bike do not provide the flotation of the fat tires on the trike (although, the fat tire bikes available nowadays evens up the score, as they too are excellent at sand running). In my riding thus far, I find there is no need for swerving as you describe due to the fact that I am traveling quite slowly as I explore the backcountry. I could see swerving as an issue if a rider was going fast, as mountain bike cyclists are sometimes known to do, but from an exploration and expedition standpoint, speed is never an aspect of travel. I have always left speedy riding to the pavement, as I have known a few folks who have been severely hurt while riding a mountain bike at high speeds on dirt trails.

    The comfort of fatrikes is unparalleled, and even though their original design was for conquering terrain beyond pavement, I have found them to be awesome vehicles for the street also. Nothing comes close in comfort, as there are never the traditional discomfort issues on a trike that bicyclists have complained of for decades (wrists, neck, butt, back). With fat street tires mounted, such as the VEE Speedster, a fatrike would be an incredible all-around street machine, with some ability to tackle mild backcountry scenarios. I would not hesitate riding a fatrike on a cross-country paved journey. One final thought about fatrikes in the bush, avoiding obstacles becomes a thing of the past, as it is great fun riding over the tops of obstacles, haha. If you wish to learn more about bush trikes, my latest book may be of interest to you: https://trikeasylum.wordpress.com/stevestuff/steves-published-books/2017-bush-triker/

    Welcome to the quickly growing ranks of trike pilots! Great to have you on board. See ya’ …

    steve

  4. Leif Swanson says:

    I have an ICE Full Fat that I purchased in March, 2015, from a dealer near Boulder, Colorado. I have used it off-road and also on paved bicycle paths. I have used it on two track dirt logging roads in southeast Wyoming where I live. It can be a little tippy when the road tilts, and it can be a little unsteady when I cross over the hump in the middle of the logging road to travel down the other track. I have tipped it over a few times, but I have learned to lean in the opposite direction of the slant to avoid tipping. I love the upright seating position and the overall feel of the trike as it goes over rough and smooth terrain. Because it is relatively heavy, I go on slightly shorter rides. The workout is great. A lot of people turn their heads when they see me, so it is quite an attention getter. I have not used it on an overnight backcountry trip yet, but it sounds like it would be fun. I purchased a studded rear tire for winter travel, and this seems to help for traction. Overall, I like the trike and look forward to more adventures in all four seasons.

  5. Leif Swanson says:

    By the way, thanks Steve for doing such a great job with your regular posts! I enjoy reading them!

  6. trike hobo says:

    You are welcome Leif. I am happy you enjoy my crazy rants and raves. And yes, the ICE Full Fat is one incredible trike, of that there is no doubt. The comfort factor is off the charts, and the motorist visibility factor is superior to standard trikes. This trike easily pulls double duty, one as an backcountry exploration vehicle, and one as a grand street journey vehicle. Interestingly, it also can reach higher speeds on flat pavement if one is interested in cross country treks on highways. It is heavier, but I gladly accept that for the overwhelming positive factors it has. I see it as my “do anything” and “go anywhere” human powered vehicle!

Comments are closed.