Do It Yourself Trike Trailer, for Micro-camping

About trike hobo

Steve Greene is a naturalist, philosopher, and teller of tales. He pursues absolute truth in all things, modifying his existence as supported by legitimate evidence. His ideological foundation rests on the respect of life, as he follows a path of health, serenity, and maximum functional longevity. He has authored ten books, and is a noted authority on Death Valley National Park, human powered recumbent cycle touring, fitness and longevity, and professional law enforcement. Steve has not owned a petroleum powered automobile since 2008, as part of his environmental preservation paradigm. He eats a vegan diet, exercises regularly, and enjoys exploring the wilderness. Harmony with nature tops his priorities. To learn more about Steve, please visit: http://wildsteve.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Triker's World. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Do It Yourself Trike Trailer, for Micro-camping

  1. Alonzo Savage says:

    A really inventive idea and so inexpensive to make. My concerns would be about waterproofness and stability when towing in a wind. An excellent piece of kit.

  2. armadillozack says:

    Believe me simplest is best…! I would go into detail, but I don’t want to put everyone to sleep, with all the visions I had for my trailer… I had even gone as far as designing, and building a miniature 12 v batt. powered A/C system for it seeing how I lived in Florida and knowing how it could be uncomfortably warm in the nights.. And that is specially after spending a long hot day on the road pumping those peddles striving forward towards my final goal…! I have seen this video first as well, and I wanted to improve on it with the likes of which nobody has ever seen…! Pride being my worst enemy in this project..! Yes this mans trailer is some what primitive, and yes it could be better improved but watch out before the bug bites you, and you start off down the road hauling 5 or 600 lbs. with you and almost 60% of that being trailer…! Yea…! That number starts to stick in your craw after a while, but I even bought fine linen sheets to sleep on before I was stopped by the property management because of the enormity of my project and the rules of this community..! Which I now thank them, because I was blinded by trying to reinvent this mans trailer in which could use a little water proofing but not much else…! And as for aero dynamics, unless you are trying to beat a speed record as well there is no need or not really hard to make some simple improvements if at all….! This is going to be a discussion long after we are gone, and I’m sure there are going to be many more trekers to want to improve this mans trailer, and maybe one of them are going to be successful in building something that will fit the bill, but for my money I will bet it will be a long time coming…
    Armadillo Zack

  3. armadillozack says:

    And watching it again, I know see how insanely vain I was in my approach, because I not only took a simple idea and expanded it, but multiplied it equally as insane…! I don’t know what the hell I was thinking… And I just got off the phone with friends who also went into this so crazily, and they to remarked on how they were bitten by the bug… Another great example of how this could be so expanded upon is someone I like to call friend as we have conversed and written back to one another on the subject and who has even made his own travel video, and I hope he does not mind me using his name is Matt Galat, of the Ja Yoe tour series of video’s in which he had attempted a world trek including many countries, and because of his video’s treked a couple of hundred pounds of video equipment along till he had blown out a Meniscus in his knee…! This is a very hot topic and everyone I have come upon this subject of glamping as this gentleman has called it has run into the same argument or idea of improving it or treking in the back country with out a tent, and trailing instead, only later on to find that simple is best….! And I promise this is the last I shall speak on it, as I am totally flustered as to how I blown the whole idea….!
    Armadillo Zack…!
    (by the way Armadillo, like the Turtle is a creature who carries his home or protection on his back) simple huh…?

Comments are closed.