Hell on a Trike …

When air temperatures soar, when a triker is pedaling up a long steep hill in the glaring sun, when water supply is gone or nearly so, when throat is parched and dry, and when the day’s temperatures are still climbing, it can seem like hell on a human powered tricycle!

Here are two brief clips from two separate trike journeys, the first along the Eastern Sierra Nevada Mountains in California, and the second on Highway 101, also in California. My verbal estimates of air temperature were low, as I would always find out once I reached the next area of human habitation.

These moments are really tough when they are happening, but they make for some fond memories of past times. Glad I wasn’t riding a velomobile!

About trike hobo

Steve Greene is a naturalist, philosopher, and teller of tales. He pursues absolute truth in all things, modifying his existence as supported by legitimate evidence. His ideological foundation rests on the respect of life, as he follows a path of health, serenity, and maximum functional longevity. He has authored eleven books, and is a noted authority on Death Valley National Park, human powered recumbent cycle touring, fitness and longevity, and professional law enforcement. Steve has not owned a petroleum powered automobile since 2008, as part of his environmental preservation paradigm. He eats an organic vegan diet, exercises regularly, and enjoys exploring the wilderness. Harmony with nature tops his priorities. To learn more about Steve, please visit: http://wildsteve.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Triker's World. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Hell on a Trike …

  1. daytriker says:

    Come on Steve, The TRUTH! You miss the abuse don’t ya? :)

  2. Robert says:

    An example of stamina, fortitude and perseverance if ever there was one.

  3. buckyboydog says:

    Ugh, been there , done that on two wheelers. Keeping the trike in Davis where it is wall board flat.

  4. Leif Swanson says:

    I really enjoy your site and look forward to reading your postings. I have an ICE Full Fat that I bought from the ICE dealer near Boulder, Colorado, and enjoy it very much. I am still working full time, so my rides are hit and miss.

  5. trike hobo says:

    Hi Leif, Thanks for the kind and enthusiastic words my friend. If you are already not a member, you may wish to visit the Fatrike Forum. I am sure you would enjoy becoming part of the growing community. Thus far, there are only 75 members, but with time, and new folks like yourself who are enthusiastic about fatrikes, it will become even more fun! Thanks for writing. – steve
    Link: http://fatrike.freeforums.org

  6. Ahhh….! I know this feeling very well but with out the up hill problem, as here in Florida the largest hill I experience really is a steep graded over pass maybe if traveling east to west… But I can remember one day traveling south on U.S.1 where they were calling for 98 deg. weather at the beach so it had to be at least 110 deg. on the roadway blacktop of U.S.1 (if not more) and I had run out of water thinking that I would be making a quick run but let me tell you it was far from quick by any means, and I thank the lucky stars that all over U.S.1 you can’t go no further than approx 2 to 3 mi. before running into a stop and go station to pick up a cold bottle of water and some electrolytes to refuel for the journey home again….! But as you, I got thru it ….! Just a black top blunder on my part for not bringing extra water…! .

Comments are closed.