OFF-PAVEMENT TRIKER SURVEY

If you ride a recumbent tadpole tricycle off the pavement, on dirt roads or trails, there is a survey waiting for your participation on the Fatrike Forum. It does not matter whether your trike is one of the new fatrikes, a mountain trike (such as the Scorpion FX Enduro), or a standard street trike you have specially adapted or modified with knobby tires (such as the ICE Adventure). If you ride dirt, click HERE to participate in the survey!

Scorpion Enduro 14

About trike hobo

Steve Greene is a naturalist, philosopher, and teller of tales. He pursues absolute truth in all things, modifying his existence as supported by legitimate evidence. His ideological foundation rests on the respect of life, as he follows a path of health, serenity, and maximum functional longevity. He has authored eleven books, and is a noted authority on Death Valley National Park, human powered recumbent cycle touring, fitness and longevity, and professional law enforcement. Steve has not owned a petroleum powered automobile since 2008, as part of his environmental preservation paradigm. He eats an organic vegan diet, exercises regularly, and enjoys exploring the wilderness. Harmony with nature tops his priorities. To learn more about Steve, please visit: http://wildsteve.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Triker's World. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to OFF-PAVEMENT TRIKER SURVEY

  1. Alonzo Savage says:

    Hi Steve, it’s an interesting project surveying off road trikers. I have owned my ICE ‘T@ for nearly nine years and with the advent of the Full Fat I decided to modify my T. The 26″ wheel I had fitted was equipped with a Continental MTB tyre complete with Tuffy tape and the fronts were fitted with Shcwalbe BMX rubber. It only take 30 minutes to change the tyres so when the mood takes me, like last week, I head for the nearest bit of rough track which just happens to be in a local park. This last time I was accompanied by my son and two grandsons on MTB’s. We even had to lift my trike over a couple of gates to access a thrilling downhill field run as my T wouldn’t fit over the hikers style. As always whether on or off road I always carry spare inner tubes and a basic set of tools. On longer rides I clip on a bar bag with wet gear in it after all this is England and rain is never far away. I access my off road rides mostly by packing my trike into my car and driving, I hate driving, to the area in question. Last year I rode the trails in Grizedale forest in our beautiful Lake District and hit 35mph on a downhill bit of forest road; it took me back 50 years and scared the hell out of me. I can’t wait to have another go complete with video cameras. No chance of me ever going back to a mountain bike. I have made many varied modifications to my ‘T’ since I first purchased it as can be seen on this site. Sorry I’ve no decent photos of me on my trike off road but may have soon at which point I will send them to you.
    Alonzo

  2. trike hobo says:

    Hi Alonzo – Thanks for the details. You are definitely a fellow who still rides tricycles and plays in the dirt, just like me. Okay, now get on over there to the survey and answer those questions. I am seeking input from several types of off-pavement riders, and you exemplify those who modify an existing trike to handle the conditions. Give my regards to M, and keep on triking old man! Well, I am right behind you …
    steve

  3. Becky Thomas says:

    Would not let me do the survey or reply on my mobile phone.

    Becky

    >

  4. trike hobo says:

    Hi Becky,
    Not being a user of mobile phones, I have no idea how to answer this problem. When you get access to a computer however, give it another go. You won’t experience any issues. Computers I know, haha. Thanks.
    steve

  5. armadillozack says:

    I had wanted to take the survey but for some reason or another I could not get into the website.. So I will give a brief statement here as for my reasoning as to why I ride off road with my recumbent,.. First off I bought my Fat Cat Custom Quad-4, because I live in a rural area of Florida, where a lot of our roads are not paved and we have a combination of gravel, and sand, also it affords me the opportunity to ride along the beach where the tires I picked for my ride work very well when maneuvering my recumbent .. Lastly we have an area close to my home where is a sand pit and dunes of considerable size and are great fun to ride… Now that being said I also have made a perches of fat road tires, which I can change all four of my tires in less then 14 mins. and with out any special tools and only requiring a pump to complete the change for road driving my ride… So I get the best of both worlds, and I always have a great time riding… I use it for almost every occasion in which I find it a great pleasure to do so, as when I pull up to the local Winn-Dixie people always ask me about my recumbent, and I take great pride answering all their questions… It’s wonderful going down the road and getting all the attention I receive, I love the little kids faces when they ask me did it cost a lot and answer them with a round about figure as I am always adding something new to it to be able to keep a total figure…! From the first moment I spied my ride on Utah Trike’s website, I fell in love with the off road Fat Recumbent, and I am glad I followed through and bought it….
    Armadillo Zack

  6. trike hobo says:

    Hi Zack,
    If you are a member of the forum, accessing it should be no problem. Survey participants must be members of the forum in order to respond.
    steve

Comments are closed.