The Great Canadian Goose (a triker’s story)

A long time Trike Asylum reader and triker has a northern tale to tell. Read all about his triangular trike trek, and see some photographs, on his Crazy Guy On A Bike page HERE!

Glen Aldridge on Trike

The first page of text reads like this (there are ten more pages):

The Great Canadian Goose

by Glen Aldridge

After making several multi day trips camping over the past 5 years, I had finally come to the conclusion that I was carrying TOO MUCH CRAP! As I tend to over-plan things, I wanted to be prepared for any eventuality – you know, “An ounce of prevention is worth a pound of cure.” Whoever dreamt up that expression surely wasn’t a Cycle Tourist as I prefer, “1 lb. on the flat = 10lbs going uphill.” It’s not that I’m overly lazy, but Vancouver Island seems to be very well endowed when it comes to hills, and I’m getting old! With those previous packing lessons behind me, I set out to pack everything into my car. It helped that my car was small, otherwise I may have fallen into the, “I might need it,” syndrome again. After removing my passenger seat headrest, folding over the rear seat, removing the spare tire, moving the front seats forward, I might be able to fit in my HP Gekko fx20. With the help of a neighbour & some careful manouevering, we managed to get it in the back of the car & laying on top of the passenger seat. This trip was a first for me in this area, even though I have lived on & off Vancouver Island for the past 25 years. Many of the towns away from our ‘big cities’ of Victoria, Nanaimo, Duncan etc. are so chock full of local & tourist traffic rushing about that to try & venture anywhere by bike is not very pleasant or calming. To do it on a Recumbent Trike can be doubly frustrating, as drivers seem more concerned about their cell phones or destination then they are about making you a splat on the road. Outside of these city areas though, more & more cycle routes, paths & trails are being built, so there is hope yet for safe, sane cycle travel.

Click HERE to read the rest of the story!

About trike hobo

Steve Greene is a naturalist, philosopher, and teller of tales. He pursues absolute truth in all things, modifying his existence as supported by legitimate evidence. His ideological foundation rests on the respect of life, as he follows a path of health, serenity, and maximum functional longevity. He has authored ten books, and is a noted authority on Death Valley National Park, human powered recumbent cycle touring, fitness and longevity, and professional law enforcement. Steve has not owned a petroleum powered automobile since 2008, as part of his environmental preservation paradigm. He eats a vegan diet, exercises regularly, and enjoys exploring the wilderness. Harmony with nature tops his priorities. To learn more about Steve, please visit: http://wildsteve.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Triker's World. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Great Canadian Goose (a triker’s story)

  1. Rodger D. Reddish says:

    WoW — I do like “The Tourist Town” .

  2. Kimball Rasmussen says:

    Steve: I really enjoy your articles and admire what you do to help and inspire others. I recently bought my first trike – an ICE VTX+. I read your articles meticulously before making this purchase. I actually ordered a Catrike 700 initially, but I wanted serious upgrades. By the time I was done changing components, etc., the price approached the VTX+ and I basically was specifying a Catrike that was equipped more like the VTX. The VTX+ comes standard with the upgrades that I wanted. So I was able to order a stock VTX+ and get the setup that met my expectations, I thought. And also recognizing that your site has a cover photo of the VTX, I converted my order to the ICE. In general I am enjoying this new world (I am converting from “upright” DF bikes). However, I have one concern: if I let my hands off the steering for a second or so, the front end goes into a “resonant” wobble, and then the trike shakes violently. I queried the dealer, and they (reportedly) asked ICE. Their response blamed me, attributing this to my pedaling style. However, it happens even when I am coasting. If anything, it might be less pronounced when pedaling. I wonder if it is a problem with tikes in general? But I have no other trike experience to compare. I also wonder if it is a simple alignment problem. Do you have any ideas? Thanks for your excellent site. Kimball Rasmussen

    > > >

  3. trike hobo says:

    Hi Kimball,
    I have advised ICE of your query for assistance. I am not personally experienced with this situation, thus am unable to offer a meaningful reply beyond mere speculation. I shall defer to the experts here.
    steve

  4. trike hobo says:

    Hello again Kimball,

    ICE has promptly responded to my inquiry regarding your questions, and they are ready to assist you. Here is what they just emailed me: “Your reader needs to contact us directly with a full account of the issue he’s having and past communication with his dealer. We can then follow normal protocol.”

    I have personally found this company to be exemplary in helping riders and owners of their trikes, so I am confident that they will be able to assist you too. Here is the link to their “Contact Us” page, where you can begin the process with them: http://www.icetrikes.co/contact-us

    And here is their email address: info@icetrikes.co

    steve

Comments are closed.