Loaded for the long-haul trike tour …

For long-time Trike Asylum readers, you may recall back in 2009 when Trike Hobo Steve took his first overland tricycle journey to Death Valley. He pulled a trailer and was loaded for any eventuality. Word has it his rolling weight was also a staggering 375 pounds! Well, I just happened upon a photo of a triker who may be carrying even more than the Trike Hobo was back in those days. This enthusiastic trekker seems to even have a guitar!

Old Triker Dude on Tour

If you are the man in this photo, please comment with more information.

About Desert Dune

Adam Lee (known as Desert Dune) was one of three correspondents who assisted Steve with updating the Badwater or Bust blog in 2009, while Steve was pedaling to and through Death Valley National Park on his ICE Q tricycle. Adam continues to fill in now and then as necessary while Steve is out exploring. https://badwater.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Triker's World. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Loaded for the long-haul trike tour …

  1. Sure, I’m “thegimprider” (on crazy guy on a bike website – see link below), and I’m only carrying about 175 lbs here but I do often tour with over 200lbs. Right now I’m on LSD as in “low speed device” a hospital style wheelchair with zero weight bearing and a new Frankenstein scar on leg. The VA sawed it in half to correct damage from USMC days.
    I’ve got tour journal postings on crazyguyonabike since 2005
    Note: Greenspeeed frame did finally break due to stress from overload.

    Link to an article:

    http://www.crazyguyonabike.com/directory/?o=tS&user=thegimprider&v=1H

  2. Bernt Carlberg says:

    Hey Steve! I think the man in the picture of the “well” loaded trike is Douglas Coulter who has written many stories in “crazyguyonabike.com. Regards, Bernt Carlberg, ICE QNT Gothenburg, Sweden

  3. buckyboydog says:

    That guy looks tired while just setting there. Not a good way to travel.

  4. armadillozack says:

    I do not know who the photo is of, but I have to say I appreciate his tenacity, and respect him for his valued contribution of this photo.. The photo truly shows the amount of gear necessary to undertake a long excursion on a trike in an attempt to make a long journey…
    I don’t know how many of you are aware of this but I was planning to make just a six hundred mile trip to the Florida Keys from my home here in the Treasure Coast area in Florida along the US 1 South corridor this spring… After rethinking the whole plan, I decided to buy a trailer, and create a sort of sleep pod in order to take on this trip.. The sleep pod was to be crated on a bikes at work trailer, which has a weight capacity of 650 lbs. on a set of 16″ in. tuff wheels , and some Kendal tires.. I made some modifications to the trailer by changing the wheels and tires, and created a thin plywood box to fit within it’s frame to carry supplies and whatever I thought I would need along the way of this trek to the Keys.. On top of the box I created a long cylinder made of 2″ x 48″ x 96″in. blocks of rigid home insulation, laminated together to create a 2″ in. thick by 72″ in. long circular tube, with a 32″ in. wide cavity to sleep inside of… Now I know what you are thinking what about air, well I thought about that to, I created a battery powered A/C system to keep me cool, and bring in some fresh air as well.. On the rear of the trailer I created, and still working on a galley which will contain a cooktop a small 6″ in. sink to wash up any plates, or cookware, underneath I will have 2 x 10 gal. containers 1 with water, and 1 to contain our gray water so as not to leave a mess or invite unwanted pests.. with plenty of storage for kitchen ware, and utensils for eating… I also included space for a radio for weather updates, and a wifi extender to do blogs on the trip informing friends and family of my progress, as well as health and welfare…! Not to mention photos and video of the trip… I have to wait till next spring however,in order to get underway so as to go at a time when there is less traffic from tourists and snowbirds, so as not to get flattened along the way… And to make sure all is in working order as well..!
    These trips are necessary to a lot of us as we get older to put our stamp on this page in history in order to be remembered for our successes in life… But it also shows just as much, How much you need to take along just on these short treks across this great country of ours… Everything you think you are going to need is more than likely going to be needed as you make your way from point A to point B as you are going along your trek.. And as I described in these few lines you can see just how much I will be bring along on just my trek which I only expect to be on the road for 12 days, 6 there and 6 back, and of course not forgetting the time I spend at the Keys… But you also need to be prepared for any event that should happen along either way as well, and that also needs to be brought along with you as you go.. So as you see in the guy’s photo he even brought his guitar, and I’m sure after a long day’s ride, and a good meal you need to let off some steam Huh…? Good luck to any of you who could be thinking of going on a long trek, and remember to bring what you need, and even some little things you might not of thought of bring along, Like maybe your guitar…!
    Armadillo Zack

  5. Boaz Axelrad says:

    Lay the guitar down. The drag on this thing is more than the weight of the trailer.

Comments are closed.