Shimano PD-M424 pedals for ICE Full Fat

I have recently changed the pedals on Bigfoot, a transition I found necessary due to some Nerve Compression Syndrome issues. Formerly, I was using the iSSi II minimalist pedal, a great looking all-black pedal. It was a mountain bike pedal, designed similarly to the MB Shimano pedal. I have used this type before on my ICE Q, which I rode almost exclusively on the pavement for touring. Here is where I found the issue with this style of pedal on the Full Fat backcountry trike:

The minimalist pedal is just that … minimal. For me, it was placing too much pressure on my forefoot area when really pushing hard in deep sand. Being so small, the iSSi depressed the sole of my Lake MX-165 MTB shoes, which I have been wearing again because they are better suited for rugged backcountry riding and camping. After about an hour and a half of off road pedaling, including some deep sand, those nasty hot spots were sizzling, as they once did years ago before I figured out how to ride without forefoot pain.

iSSi Pedal

I have now removed the iSSi pedals (MSRP: $75), replacing them with Shimano PD-M424 MTB pedals, which provide a relatively large foundation for the shoe. This lessens the pressure delivered to the forefoot by a significant margin. Using my SIDI Dominator 5 MTB shoes, the iSSi is fine, with no pressure problems, due to the SIDI sole, a hard plastic that does not compress under pressure like the Lake MX-165 MTB shoe. The Lake shoe has thick Vibram soles, and they are more compatible for longer riding sessions with the PD-M424 pedals. The iSSi pedals come in eight different colors for coordinating with the trike.

Shimano PD-M424 02

The Shimano PD-M424 costs $38.75 on Amazon today, and is available HERE.

Shimano PD-M424 01

These pedals can also be used with street shoes if necessary, whereas the iSSi cannot.

For a discussion about Nerve Compression Syndrome (hot spots) and ways to minimize an uncomfortable foot, click HERE. Below are the two MTB shoes I use. The upper shoe is the Lake MX-165 with Vibram sole, the bottom shoe is the SIDI Dominator 5 with hard plastic sole. I used the SIDI shoes on my Pacific Coast ride, and never experienced any issues with hot spots. With the new PD-M424 pedals on Bigfoot, I can use either shoe with comfort, as they spread out the force applied while pedaling in rough terrain.

SIDI vs Lake Sole

About trike hobo

Steve Greene is a naturalist, philosopher, and teller of tales. He pursues absolute truth in all things, modifying his existence as supported by legitimate evidence. His ideological foundation rests on the respect of life, as he follows a path of health, serenity, and maximum functional longevity. He has authored eleven books, and is a noted authority on Death Valley National Park, human powered recumbent cycle touring, fitness and longevity, and professional law enforcement. Steve has not owned a petroleum powered automobile since 2008, as part of his environmental preservation paradigm. He eats an organic vegan diet, exercises regularly, and enjoys exploring the wilderness. Harmony with nature tops his priorities. To learn more about Steve, please visit: http://wildsteve.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Triker's World. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Shimano PD-M424 pedals for ICE Full Fat

  1. armadillozack says:

    I just purchased a pair of Giro black with hot red laces, biking shoes with a set of Shimano cleats for the Shimano PD-M424 pedals… As most folks find after riding a while it helps to have the proper foot gear on when riding on long treks as I have.. Now I’m not saying that you need to go out and spend lots of money on a pair of fancy bike shoes, and cleats, only that it helps fight early foot fatigue when riding.. Now you can possibly ride with heel straps, or the more expensive leg, and heel clamps which help you fight leg, and foot fatigue, but this could also be worked out with a decent pair of hard sole shoes.. Usually foot fatigue starts out with some numbness in the toes, and eventually works it way down to the ball of your foot, and then further down to your arch.. Now i don’t want to lecture about the importance of good footwear, I just want to say no matter what pedals you have mounted on your mid drive you will, or will not wind up with foot fatigue, but if you do then I suggest to you find your self a good pair of shoes to wear when biking because it does help you if you do…! OH…! And as for the pedals I love the Shimano PD-M424’s compared to all those fancy colored pedals you see now days advertised, Ya I know that anodised aluminum is the cool thing to add to bikes, and they weigh less, and all that, but I’ll keep my Shimano’s..
    Great topic as always Steve, Thanks…!
    Armadillo Zack

Comments are closed.