Do It Yourself dog sidecar for recumbent trike

This just in from Trike Asylum reader Mark, a crafty fellow with the talent of a visionary inventor. Check out what he has to say, and watch the supporting movie below:

Hi my name is Mark, and I created this side car. I’m sorry it’s been over a year to respond to this post. My dog loves this side car. Safety comes first for both the dog and the rider. I only ride on trails, never on road unless unavoidable, like crossings. The side car is so awesome that when on the trail, I always get a great response from walkers, runners and other riders. As it appears wide, I never have problems on bike paths, and to my surprise with this attached on the side of my ICE trike there is no drag to the right or left. It is amazing! Even if I have to cross over some grass etc, it goes effortlessly. I really outdid myself. I originally didn’t build this with the intention of selling it. But the response has been so great that I am now considering making DIY plans for other riders, and maybe putting together a kit. If you have some questions about the side car, you’re welcome to contact me at cpdmark2@gmail.com. Again, thank you for saying nice things about what I created. Again thanks, I really appreciate it. – Mark

About trike hobo

Steve Greene is a naturalist, philosopher, and teller of tales. He pursues absolute truth in all things, modifying his existence as supported by legitimate evidence. His ideological foundation rests on the respect of life, as he follows a path of health, serenity, and maximum functional longevity. He has authored ten books, and is a noted authority on Death Valley National Park, human powered recumbent cycle touring, fitness and longevity, and professional law enforcement. Steve has not owned a petroleum powered automobile since 2008, as part of his environmental preservation paradigm. He eats a vegan diet, exercises regularly, and enjoys exploring the wilderness. Harmony with nature tops his priorities. To learn more about Steve, please visit: http://wildsteve.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Triker's World. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Do It Yourself dog sidecar for recumbent trike

  1. Glen A. says:

    Mark, you have a great idea there but using screws at your joints will eventually crack the PVC. I have found that using silicone works quite well when you want to test fit pieces that you may want to take apart later.

  2. Jerry Forster says:

    Great idea. The only problem I can see is the width. I find my trike is too wide for some roads already.

  3. armadillozack says:

    Very cool idea…! I wish my Otto was still alive, so I could build one to bring him along on my journeys… None the less a very keen idea to share your ride with man’s best friend…! Thanks for sharing this video with us Hobo Steve…!
    Armadillozack

Comments are closed.