ICE Full Fat fatrike on the move …

Inspired Cycle Engineering of England (ICE) manufactures this human-powered off-road backcountry exploration vehicle, called the Full Fat due to its high flotation “fat” tires, which allow off-pavement travel with minimal disruption of the environment. In this four minute presentation, veteran backcountry explorer Steve Greene rides the ICE Full Fat in southern California’s notorious Mojave Desert, once traversed in the 1880s by the famous twenty-mule team borax wagons. Steve’s Full Fat, affectionately named Bigfoot, is a full-suspension model, making for comfortable backcountry trekking.

Base price for this ICE Full Fat recumbent tricycle is $5456.06 USD. Learn more at the manufacturer’s website: http://icetrikes.co/explore-our-trikes/full-fat. View Steve’s other ICE Full Fat movies on his Vimeo page: http://vimeo.com/wildsteve. To learn more about fatrikes in general, click HERE to be swept away! Ride a mega-trike, and be seen.

About Desert Dune

Adam Lee (known as Desert Dune) was one of three correspondents who assisted Steve with updating the Badwater or Bust blog in 2009, while Steve was pedaling to and through Death Valley National Park on his ICE Q tricycle. Adam continues to fill in now and then as necessary while Steve is out exploring. https://badwater.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Triker's World. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to ICE Full Fat fatrike on the move …

  1. Art says:

    I’d like to have you test the climbing ability of the fat trike. At what % climb do you loose traction? Gravel, packed sand and loose sand would be my preferred substrates. Track the gear and tire psi as well. This would give those of us that have an “almost fat tire” trike the information as to whether it is worth the vehicle change.

  2. steve greene says:

    This trike goes far beyond what any standard trike can accomplish with regards to off-pavement travel. I have been continually impressed with what it can do in the backcountry, and this is in addition to it being the most comfortable “street” trike I’ve ever ridden. My experience on it thus far is limited however, due to a unlucky string of circumstances that has kept me from exploring as much as I would like. Believe it or not, I have ridden this Full Fat less than 50 total miles, but once I get the final bugs ironed out, I will be posting more useful material. Currently, I am awaiting my Stan’s NoTubes tire sealant so that I will be able to upgrade to a tubeless tires setup (absolutely critical for serious backcountry riders). The trike is up on boxes without wheels right now. I received this trike with tube tires, which I quickly found was a profound judgment miscalculation, as tube tires cannot stand up to the off-road terrain without going flat repeatedly (I learned the hard way). The good news is that multiple flats will soon be a thing of the past for me! Yee Haa.

    This trike plows through sand that would leave a standard trike dead in its tracks. That much I do currently know, having pedaled over quite a bit of very sandy roadbed in the Mojave Desert. There were slight inclines in the road, and while difficult to keep the legs moving, the trike did successfully keep on making headway. Tire pressure will make a significant difference in a rider’s ability to navigate through deep sand. Fat tires can be run as low as 5-8 PSI if desired. The maximum air pressure for these tires ranges from 20 PSI to 30 PSI depending on the tire and tire manufacturer. They are very easy to pump up from a low pressure if you come off a sandy area and re-enter automobile pavement. There is no comparison of these fatrikes with standard trikes! Changing over is clearly worth it for anyone who seeks the ultimate freedom on a human powered tricycle. Fatrikes won’t go everywhere, but hey, they will come much closer by a huge order of magnitude compared to all the other trikes with which we have been familiar over the years. And, they offer a level of comfort most trikes cannot match.

    I am totally a fatrike convert at this point, even with my limited riding time. When assessed from a road safety standpoint, these trikes put the rider’s head about even with the head of a driver in a standard sedan automobile. The trikes are so large, and sit so high off the ground, that motorists can easily see you compared to typical low trikes (such as my former ICE Qnt and Catrike 700). I stand out like a sore thumb on the road, and feel much safer in traffic than I ever have prior. Trikes are bizarre enough for the average person, but when they see these Goliaths, they are blown away, and their full attention immediately focuses on you. Everyone I pass stares, and many comment as I ride by. Fatrikes are THE trike if a rider wants to be noticed in all circumstances. They would also make fantastic street trikes simply by switching out the aggressive knobby tires with the fat tires we find on the new fat bicycles that are made for the pavement. From my vantage point, fatrikes are a total “win” situation no matter where I ride it. Can I still ride cross country on a road trip? Sure can, and it would be the most comfy one imaginable, and much safer too.

    So, while I don’t have all the mathematical figures you seek, I can say without reservation that fatrikes are awesome. I won’t win many speed races, but I got all that “need for speed” out of my system with my rigid, but lightning fast, Catrike 700. If I had not needed the extra cash to acquire my Full Fat last year, I would have kept the 700 for an occasional thrill ride, but I’m not bummed because this fatrike is so darn much fun! Even though this trike is made with the backcountry in mind, it’s no slug regarding speed on the road – with a wide gear range, I can still pump out the power and speed quite admirably. Sure, it requires more effort to overcome the big rubber on the road, but that’s okay by me!

  3. What a great video! I just can’t wait to see it eating dunes or crawling rocks…

  4. trike hobo says:

    Once I get my tire situation squared away, I’ll get back out there and eventually do some more videos. The trike came standard with tube tires, which is a huge mistake for an off-road backcountry trike (I had 4 flats in 17 miles, from tiny thorns, which left multiple holes in all the tubes – patching was not even an option). Little thorns on the ground puncture the tube repeatedly in desert terrains specifically, and other locales with thorn bushes. I am currently converting to a tubeless tire setup, using Stan’s NoTubes sealant. Thanks for the kudos! I have fun making these little movies. Here is the Stan’s demo – quite impressive:

Trikers are welcome to comment ... spammers get lost!

