Why fat tire cycling?

As most of you realize, Steve has begun his fat tire cycling adventure as part of his ride of life. He rides a fat tire tricycle now, and his friend Matt Jensen rides a fat tire bicycle. Both of those guys are really getting into the backcountry cycling scene these days, and for good reason: there is beauty to be found off the pavement of humanity and the chaos of motorized automobiles! Two wheels or three, fat tire cycling offers riders many advantages never known by street cyclists. Why fat tire cycling? Well, here are some great reasons to be discovered in this ten minute presentation:

About Desert Dune

Adam Lee (known as Desert Dune) was one of three correspondents who assisted Steve with updating the Badwater or Bust blog in 2009, while Steve was pedaling to and through Death Valley National Park on his ICE Q tricycle. Adam continues to fill in now and then as necessary while Steve is out exploring. https://badwater.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Triker's World. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Why fat tire cycling?

  1. There are also 4 wheeled bikes of the fat tire persuasion, and I’m waiting for my delivery as we write these comments…! And I had the honer of test riding a fat trike and I fell in love with it the moment my butt hit the seat mesh… LoL…! After that I just had to have one, there was no if’s, and’s, or but’s involved, other than the butt I had just mentioned.. Now all joking aside, I have never had an experience such as the day I took a friends fat trike for a test ride .. It was pure pleasure, no feeling the rocks, or pebbles, or anything else I may have run over that day.. I felt guilty at first, for I was not trying to run any thing over, and was scared to blow out a tire on my friends trike, till he said to me, don’t worry about anything you run over because it won’t effect the trike in the slightest… That’s when I really amped up the ride, and boy did I have fun, because everything I run over did not even effect me in the slightest.. If you don’t know my story, here’s the ultra short version,..! I was in a bad accident at work, and nearly lost my life,I went a year and a half, not feeling anything from my waist down, and gone through to many surgeries than I care to remember.. Ok ..! Now without getting in any more details, riding on a fat tire trike was the greatest thing for my back, because there is really not that much bump, and jump action in the seat.. You are not feeling anything, because that fat tire is absorbing all the energy, it is not telegraphing through the seat and up your spine as most bikes , trikes, and anything else you sit in that is not fat tired, and absorbing the shock of anything you could run over… So hence my love affair of the fat tired vehicle has commenced…
    Armadillozack

Comments are closed.