The Thousand Year Journey

About trike hobo

Steve Greene is a naturalist, philosopher, and teller of tales. He pursues absolute truth in all things, modifying his existence as supported by legitimate evidence. His ideological foundation rests on the respect of life, as he follows a path of health, serenity, and maximum functional longevity. He has authored eleven books, and is a noted authority on Death Valley National Park, human powered recumbent cycle touring, fitness and longevity, and professional law enforcement. Steve has not owned a petroleum powered automobile since 2008, as part of his environmental preservation paradigm. He eats an organic vegan diet, exercises regularly, and enjoys exploring the wilderness. Harmony with nature tops his priorities. To learn more about Steve, please visit: http://wildsteve.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Triker's World. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Thousand Year Journey

  1. Gary Jackson says:

    Sure glad to see this, cycling Today.

  2. Jerry Forster says:

    He hit adulthood on the nail. I remember my parents saying “the older you get the faster time goes”, and, as a kid, I thought they were nuts, but at 68 I know what they meant. I think he may be on to something, hope it works. If not, he’s still had one Hell of a ride!

  3. I for one truly understand this, but I have one more twist to add to this concept..! I am 53 and time has flown bye me and I have been saying for years before my accident that I was going to take some time for my self and go on a adventure.. I didn’t…! I continued to work, and tried to do things for everyone else and never went any where.. Then I got injured and I was confined to a bed for almost 2 yrs. and had so many surgeries that I care not to even talk about.. It took a few surgeries just to be able to walk again.. And still not have done any thing, as I said I now 53, I’m broke, and am confined to my home where I wait once a week to have a friend come by and take me shopping for food, Once a month to go to the doctors, and that has been my life for over 17 yrs. …! I am trying now to finally get out of the house and go on a trike trip that I have been planning for over a year, Time is my enemy, and I know this because I have been told by a bunch of doctors that I will be more then likely back in a wheel chair in a few years, and I have excepted that but I am not throwing the towel in yet, I been tucking away a little money every month to buy my trike/quad and make this over 300 mile trip to the Keys… It’s been slow going and my health is , lets just say a little questionable , but I have been able to squirrel away just over a third of the money needed to buy my chariot to the Keys and am looking forward to the trip when I have it all together… I’ll be taking video of this trip and I’ll let ya all know how it’s going as I go along.. I know I am not in the class of adventurer as this young man but to me it’s a goal that I just can’t give up on, because if I do it will be my last chance for an adventure….!
    Armadillo Zack

  4. trike hobo says:

    Zack, you ARE in the class of adventurer as this young man! An adventurer is one whose spirit is driven by the need for adventure, not by the level of adventure. Whether you are riding your chariot to the Keys, or this guy riding his bike to Patagonia, the drive is the same. What separates a true adventurer however from a dreamer is this: A dreamer dreams for the adventure, but does not actually pursue it – An adventurer is simply a dreamer who actually takes the next step, doing something that, as this fellow says in the video, scares the hell out of him. Currently, you are dreaming, but the day you pedal out of your driveway, out of the comfort zone, you become an adventurer just like the biker here! Let the spirit of adventure overtake you my friend – you have one life – do what you can WHEN you can, because at the end of one’s life, there will be few regrets for what one did, but more commonly, for what one did NOT do! Live for the moment, because there is nothing else. Past and future are only illusions of human thought. And, when you do set out on the Keys Journey, put some photos and writing on a website so we can all come and share your thrilling odyssey! See ya’ on the road …
    steve

  5. jian207 says:

    It would have been really nice to hear what Kenny had to say but alas my 68yr old hearing could not make it out because of the back ground music.

Comments are closed.