Dotty

Yesterday evening, while simply relaxing online for a while prior to dinner, I came across yet another touching presentation, one that shares with audiences a human condition that is fairly common. This one has an emotional conclusion that totally took me by surprise – what an impact – very subtle, so watch closely! Okay, tomorrow I’ll get back on the topic of trikes – for now, lose yourself in this quiet lovely corner of life:

About trike hobo

Steve Greene is a naturalist, philosopher, and teller of tales. He pursues absolute truth in all things, modifying his existence as supported by legitimate evidence. His ideological foundation rests on the respect of life, as he follows a path of health, serenity, and maximum functional longevity. He has authored eleven books, and is a noted authority on Death Valley National Park, human powered recumbent cycle touring, fitness and longevity, and professional law enforcement. Steve has not owned a petroleum powered automobile since 2008, as part of his environmental preservation paradigm. He eats an organic vegan diet, exercises regularly, and enjoys exploring the wilderness. Harmony with nature tops his priorities. To learn more about Steve, please visit: http://wildsteve.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Triker's World. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Dotty

  1. Down Wind Dan says:

    I live in a retirement home like this. Lost my sense of balance, sold the bike and bought a trike. Now there are eight other trikes here, most of these folks are not like Dotty.

  2. I am afraid, I am going to end up like Dotty.. I live in a 55+ community where nobody here is 55+, including me… Most folks here are well in their 70’s and 80’s except me.. I am only 53 soon to be 54 but moved here because I am disabled.. And they take disabled folks who can not make it in the real world because of the high cost of living and their disabilities…Especially when you depend on your disability check from the government to survive.. Let me start from the beginning, I was injured on the job back in 1995 and I have gone through so many surgeries and procedures that I was deemed disabled and unable to work… Now I am trying to do things for my self, but it is hard because I can no longer drive and I no longer ride a regular bike to get around.. So my disability has made me a prisoner of my home.. I have no way of transportation to go to the store to buy food, unless I call a Taxi, which is very expensive and hard to get because they are unable to pick up fares from where I live and have to drive back to the stand with out passengers and they don’t like to come out here.. I have called a ad in the news paper for a man who is willing to drive me their and home again, but he wants more then the taxi charges and their prices alone were more then I can really afford… So I have been saving money by buying less food and less taxi’s to go any where in order to buy a quad bike which would allow me to go shopping and just get out and about and do things by my self but it has been slow going and my case worker is now saying that this idea of mine to save money for a quad is a bad idea because I am endangering my health buy skipping meals and necessary medicines buy trying to save the money… So they want to put me in a nursing care facility… It’s like being a prisoner…! But I intended to win this battle, and I am not going to give up… But it is scary to see people like Dotty because it is a constant reminder of where I can wined up…
    Well thanks for putting this video on your site and I hope my story brings to mind someone you or someone reading this story may know, and take that extra time out of your day to help them as the nurse has helped Dotty..! Wish me luck because I won’t give up…
    Armadillo Zack

  3. trike hobo says:

    HI Dan and Zack!
    Thanks so much for your personal stories here. I think it is a good thing when we, in the tricycle community, can come to know our brothers and sisters a little better, and both of you have taken steps to share that many of us would chose to keep private. Yes, we are all simply human creatures, all struggling to survive the best we can, all with our varied circumstances as we continue on the ride of life. Often, we tend to get caught up in the minutia of life in our modern hectic society, and we forget that, to some extent, we are all suffering, and we are all scared of the unknown, into which we are all headed. Perhaps the trick is to get to know one another well, so that even though we each must face our own journeys alone, we feel a warmth inside that others are alongside us, helping to share the load, as we support each other and try to spread happiness amongst us. Hey, it’s almost like a losing battle, where we realize in the back of our minds, that there is no ultimate victory as far as our bodies are concerned, but this fear of future defeat is softened by mutual support. My hat is off to you both, and to the folks who brought us these touching moments of Paul and Dotty. Through the pain of life, we grow strong, satisfied that we are all doing the best we can. Live long my friends, and as fall turns to the winter of life, finish strong! Continue on triking as long as you can, or quading, for those who prefer four wheels! The grim reaper may be out there, but hey, he’s gonna’ have one hell of a fight on his hands when it comes to me, and hopefully, all the rest of you passionate cyclists of Earth! See ya’ …

  4. I just want to add one more thing… I choose a quad because of it’s ability to make shopping easier for me, But please note that the quad I am speaking of is just a Trike with a add on..! A after market feature, a rear end which is bolted on to the rear end of a trike.. But is in fact always a trike… So fear not you triker’s out there, I am not a invader from another realm looking to infiltrate the triker world, but just another triker with some custom modifications… Some like rear view cameras and I pod speakers, I like a extra tire to carry extra weight…. My best to all of you and happy and safe trikeing this summer to you all….!
    Armadillo Zack

Trikers are welcome to comment ... spammers get lost!

