ICE Full Fat specifications now available

Click HERE to see the technical specifications of their new extreme terrain vehicle, the Full Fat, which have recently been added to the ICE webpage. How do ten inches* of ground clearance sound? That’s more than most petrol powered SUV rigs!

ICE Full Fat 40* I am not sure where the 10 inch measurement is taken. I am looking at the frame cross member here, and based on a 26 inch wheel, along with those huge fat tires, it seems it could be more like 13 inches of usable clearance. Whatever the number is, and wherever a measurement is taken, one thing is abundantly clear: this trike has great clearance!

About trike hobo

Steve Greene is a naturalist, philosopher, and teller of tales. He pursues absolute truth in all things, modifying his existence as supported by legitimate evidence. His ideological foundation rests on the respect of life, as he follows a path of health, serenity, and maximum functional longevity. He has authored ten books, and is a noted authority on Death Valley National Park, human powered recumbent cycle touring, fitness and longevity, and professional law enforcement. Steve has not owned a petroleum powered automobile since 2008, as part of his environmental preservation paradigm. He eats a vegan diet, exercises regularly, and enjoys exploring the wilderness. Harmony with nature tops his priorities. To learn more about Steve, please visit: http://wildsteve.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Triker's World. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to ICE Full Fat specifications now available

  1. As I may have mentioned in a previous text, I am in the process of putting funds together for a Catrike Fat Cat 4 Quad from Utah trikes, and it was only after that I have seen the Ice Full Fat that I stumbled upon Cat 4 Quad that I was wholeheartedly looking to buy a ICE FULL FAT, because of those 10 inches of clearance…
    Great trike though, I believe that they will sell many of them, and is truly an asset to their web page…
    Good luck ICE, and Cheers…!

  2. trike hobo says:

    Back in 2008, when I got rid of my gasoline powered backcountry vehicle, I wanted to replace it with a human powered quad so I could continue my explorations of the wild hinterlands, but only one company made such a rig, and unfortunately, they had suspended production of it sometime prior to my desire for it, thus I moved into the world of three wheels. By the way, that quad I just spoke of was a fully suspended vehicle – very sophisticated and very costly – don’t recall the name of it now. Utah Trikes was not offering the converted Catrike/Quad unit back then, or at least if they were, I was totally unaware of it. When I did become aware of the Catrike quad, I was very tempted to acquire one for outback exploration, but opted not to because it is a rigid vehicle, without full suspension. What this means is that when it traverses planes of odd angles, one wheel will always be lifting off the ground, which of course places significant stress upon the frame and weld areas. This caused me to pause and consider that if I were to use such a rig for serious backcountry travel, I would be placing stresses upon it that Catrike did not design for, as they designed a trike, which handles plane traverses totally differently than a quad – no wheels lift off the ground. So, I opted not to get the Utah Trikes quad conversion vehicle (although I must admit, there is a HUGE cool factor to how it looks, and I would enjoy one for casual riding on mild terrain).

  3. trike hobo says:

    One additional note: The quad that caught my eye back in 2008 had 4-wheel independent suspension in the form of A-arms, with hydraulic shocks, so it had a considerable amount of travel, which is necessary if one hopes to keep all four wheels on the ground in tough terrain. Even with four wheel independent, extreme stuff will cause a wheel to lift, and stress the frame (although well designed rugged frames are created to handle the load). It would be interesting to know if the Utah Trikes quad-modified “trike” can stand up to years of extreme backcountry exploration without a crack or tear in the frame or welded unions.

Comments are closed.