Winter snowman bored – builds cool stuff!

Canada gets cold, or so I hear. One of our TA readers lives up there (well, maybe more, but this one has the same genetic disease that I suffer from: Overshareitus). Okay, so anyway, here is the latest wizardry to come out of the head of Trike Pilot Glen Aldridge:

Following text comes from a man with a frozen mind:

Glen Aldridge trainer 01Since the weather here is not very conducive to riding, I find myself tinkering in the shop or dreaming up new ideas. Since I cannot ride, and spending $250.00 for an indoor trainer is out of the question, I decided to see what I could put together with some spare parts laying around. The Trike Trainer you see is simply a small hollow steel roller from an exercise machine cut in two to approx. 7 Inches in length. I then applied sealed bearings to the open end locking them in place with silicone. The frame you see was a 2″ x 3″ length of mahogany (I hate throwing out nice wood) cut to give me a frame to hold the rollers.

Glen Aldridge trainer 02I estimated the arc on my 20 inch wheels to make sure my tire would not be touching the floor & then spaced the rollers about 10 inches apart. I think they should have been a little closer together. Anyway, it works but I may see ways to improve the idea in the new year.

Glen Aldridge taillight mountThe rear tail light mount is simple an accessory bar that you can buy at almost any cycle shop or online. It is intended for handlebars where there may not be much room for adding your computer, shifter, horn, etc. It just happens to make a great tail light mount too. This will be mounted on the back side of my headrest with the 2 small right angle brackets shown in the photo to raise the taillight from the low rear rack position usually used on Trikes.

About trike hobo

Steve Greene is a naturalist, philosopher, and teller of tales. He pursues absolute truth in all things, modifying his existence as supported by legitimate evidence. His ideological foundation rests on the respect of life, as he follows a path of health, serenity, and maximum functional longevity. He has authored ten books, and is a noted authority on Death Valley National Park, human powered recumbent cycle touring, fitness and longevity, and professional law enforcement. Steve has not owned a petroleum powered automobile since 2008, as part of his environmental preservation paradigm. He eats a vegan diet, exercises regularly, and enjoys exploring the wilderness. Harmony with nature tops his priorities. To learn more about Steve, please visit: http://wildsteve.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Triker's World. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Winter snowman bored – builds cool stuff!

  1. Tim says:

    Actually, I had thought of building something similar with a couple of leftover rollers from a treadmill and 2x4s. The wisdom from others was that it would pull apart if I used pine 2x4s, and that to use adequate wood, and hardware to let the rollers spin, it would end up costing me about what buying a trainer would. Of course, this person used mahogany, which I imagine would hold up better.

  2. John says:

    Glen, It looks great. Would like to see it in action on video. Planning on making one as well, debating reusing treadmill rollers or making my own with roller blade bearings, PVC pipe and turned wooden ends. It’s still in thought mode, need to translate to completion and get pedaling. It’s cold out, but roads currently clean and dry.

  3. MikeF says:

    Nice. Good ideas. Have you done any adapters from PVC pipe?

    I invested in the $250 progressive trainer for my new ICE Sprint RS because I haven’t been able to ride much for the last two years. It works great, and is improving strength and endurance already.

Comments are closed.