Emergency Tire Boot

For those of you trikers out there who still run other than Schwalbe Marathon Plus tires, this may be something to help you out of a tough spot while riding on the edge of your road. Click the image to learn more (alternatively, you could just get the best tires and ignore this post).

Emergency Tire Boot

About trike hobo

Steve Greene is a naturalist, philosopher, and teller of tales. He pursues absolute truth in all things, modifying his existence as supported by legitimate evidence. His ideological foundation rests on the respect of life, as he follows a path of health, serenity, and maximum functional longevity. He has authored eleven books, and is a noted authority on Death Valley National Park, human powered recumbent cycle touring, fitness and longevity, and professional law enforcement. Steve has not owned a petroleum powered automobile since 2008, as part of his environmental preservation paradigm. He eats an organic vegan diet, exercises regularly, and enjoys exploring the wilderness. Harmony with nature tops his priorities. To learn more about Steve, please visit: http://wildsteve.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Triker's World. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Emergency Tire Boot

  1. I am with you Steve. I much prefer to use the Schwalbe Marathon Plus tires and forego all this nonsense and headache. It is as they say “a no brainer”. However, for those who stubbornly refuse to go with a tire that just works superb I reckon these temporary patches might come in very handy. Back when I ran other tires I have had such problems numerous times. I am just glad I discovered the best tire money can buy and they work so great.

  2. Art says:

    For a true emergency where you haven’t purchased the Park boots, a section cut from a plastic milk carton or gallon water bottle will work. You do need to tape the edges to prevent additional holes in the tube, If running high pressure it does tend to ride with a thump, but works well when the tire has a significant hole in it.

  3. Down Wind Dan says:

    There’s no getting around it, at times a tire will fail and a boot can be a lifesaver. One of the best and least expensive boots is a dollar bill. A paper buck is tough and will actually last for a few days of riding. Hope you never need it but it is handy and something you will most likely have with you.

  4. Maybe you will have a dollar bill with you but I am usually flat broke. :) Even if I had two pennies to rub together they would probably fall thru any hole I would be trying to temporarily patch. Fortunately I use Schwalbe Marathon Plus tires so I don’t have to concern my self with this ever happening to me.

  5. Jerry Forster says:

    I agree Steve. How many tubes do you have replace to make up the price difference between cheap flimsy tires and the Marathons. Not to mention the time spent on the side of the road. I like to do my trike maintenance at my leisure.

  6. Art says:

    As long as readers realize that the boot is for a tire failure or slash by debris and not a puncture, all these comments are valid.

Comments are closed.