Trike Carrier on Chevy Volt automobile

Here is a method of transporting a human powered recumbent tadpole tricycle on a Chevrolet Volt car. This appears to be a Challenge Alize trike.

Trike Carrier on Chevy Volt 1Rack in the driving position

Trike Carrier on Chevy Volt 2Rack in the loading position

Visit the Challenge website and see the Alize trike HERE.

By the way, I have no further information about the rack. These photos were sent to me by Dave Beck, a friend who owns a Chevy Volt, thus his interest of cars meshed here with my interest of trikes, and now you know what I know. If you know more, please comment on this post. Who makes this rack? Is it custom or production?

About trike hobo

Steve Greene is a naturalist, philosopher, and teller of tales. He pursues absolute truth in all things, modifying his existence as supported by legitimate evidence. His ideological foundation rests on the respect of life, as he follows a path of health, serenity, and maximum functional longevity. He has authored eleven books, and is a noted authority on Death Valley National Park, human powered recumbent cycle touring, fitness and longevity, and professional law enforcement. Steve has not owned a petroleum powered automobile since 2008, as part of his environmental preservation paradigm. He eats an organic vegan diet, exercises regularly, and enjoys exploring the wilderness. Harmony with nature tops his priorities. To learn more about Steve, please visit: http://wildsteve.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Triker's World. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Trike Carrier on Chevy Volt automobile

  1. cavzilla says:

    Help!! I cannot lift my Scorpion Fs20 up all at once due to neck injury. I need a rack the will allow me to only lift one side at a time and maybe slide on. Does anyone make one???

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  2. Randy says:

    It looks like a Hitch Rider rack. The Hitch Rider can be configured with a second level so two trikes can be carried at the same time

  3. klzig says:

    I’ve been using a hitchrider for over a decade. I swap between the top portion of the double-decker and the bike portion of the trike-n-bike to either carry two trikes or a trike and a bike. I also swap between a 2″ and 1″ receiver hitch depending on which vehicle I’m using. The pivot works great to allow a rear hatch or liftgate to be opened with the trikes still attached. Support was excellent the one time I needed it. The rack is well made but also heavy– my wife can’t lift it on and off the vehicle. Maybe the newer ones are lighter. If I were to do it again I’d look for a simpler design that allows me to hang the trikes from the rear wheel.

  4. Tim Gillane says:

    I saw one last nightwhere the attachments to the car went in through the bumper rather than to a hitch below. Not sure how it works.

Trikers are welcome to comment ... spammers get lost!

