Joel Waxman’s Black Widow

Triker Joel Waxman has transformed a stock ActionBent trike into a unique machine he calls Black Widow. This has been an ongoing project for Joel, and the results are impressive. Many detailed photographs and descriptions of the transformation are available on his website, which may prove especially interesting for anyone wishing to morph a budget minded trike into a thoroughbred triple. Here are just a couple of images of Black Widow from Joel’s website. Click HERE to see them all.

Joel Waxman Black WidowAn earlier phase, prior to the wicked looking rear fender addition and red accents

Joel Wasman Black Widow phase 17 Phase 17 of Black Widow’s amazing transformation – looking better all the time

Joel’s story of why he acquired this trike:

When my doctor informed me that if I have another fall, I can do a lot more damage to my neck and back. He felt that the height of the seat on my Trek R-200 was way to high, and falling from there would be devastating. So I decided to place the Trek R-200 up for sale. In less than a week the R-200 was on its way to a new owner. I decided that a trike would allow me to continue riding and it would be the safe way to go.

Now as far as the non-medical reason! After looking at all the reviews and checking out the prices for the trike’s listed on Bent Rider Online, I knew that due to price and type of seat I desired would limit me greatly. I determined that the lawn chair back that comes on most trikes would not give me the back and neck support that I required. But to make sure, I tried a few of these types of trikes and was very disappointed. The remaining trikes with the hard shell seats were slowly taken off my list due to price. I then reread the review on the ActionBent Tadpole trike, and found that the only complaint was that the seat was very hot to sit on and that perspiration built up on the reviewers back. Since that was the only negative, I felt that an open cell foam seat pad would eliminate the problem.

I then needed to see what equipment was being used on the more expensive trikes compared to the ActionBent. My investigation found that many of the trikes used less expensive equipment than provided on the ActionBent. I knew I wanted friction bar-end shifters and that meant the Dura-Ace shifters was the way to go. So I decided that if necessary, I would pay extra to have the existing replaced, but the ActionBent came standard with them. That along with the other very good components and the very reasonable price made me order the ActionBent trike.

All in all, I am extremely happy with my decision, and even with the steering upgrades I did, and all the equipment additions, I ended up getting a great trike, which is far better than many others, for a lot less money. Read more HERE.

Joel Waxman Black Widow neckrestJoel’s highly modified ICE neckrest is just one of many modifications!

About trike hobo

Steve Greene is a naturalist, philosopher, and teller of tales. He pursues absolute truth in all things, modifying his existence as supported by legitimate evidence. His ideological foundation rests on the respect of life, as he follows a path of health, serenity, and maximum functional longevity. He has authored eleven books, and is a noted authority on Death Valley National Park, human powered recumbent cycle touring, fitness and longevity, and professional law enforcement. Steve has not owned a petroleum powered automobile since 2008, as part of his environmental preservation paradigm. He eats an organic vegan diet, exercises regularly, and enjoys exploring the wilderness. Harmony with nature tops his priorities. To learn more about Steve, please visit: http://wildsteve.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Triker's World. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Joel Waxman’s Black Widow

  1. daytriker says:

    I think Joel must have been a BIG DADDY Ed Roth fan. You might have to be a North American to know who he was.

Comments are closed.