Five days on a Catrike 700 – North Oregon Coast

I recently returned from a five day overland trike journey aboard the legendary Catrike 700. Photographs have now been posted HERE, along with a little explanatory text to set the stage. An article about the abilities of the 700 for touring will appear later.

North Oregon Coast280Yachats, Oregon (pronounced Yah-Hots), south of Newport, provides awesome scenery.

About trike hobo

Steve Greene is a naturalist, philosopher, and teller of tales. He pursues absolute truth in all things, modifying his existence as supported by legitimate evidence. His ideological foundation rests on the respect of life, as he follows a path of health, serenity, and maximum functional longevity. He has authored ten books, and is a noted authority on Death Valley National Park, human powered recumbent cycle touring, fitness and longevity, and professional law enforcement. Steve has not owned a petroleum powered automobile since 2008, as part of his environmental preservation paradigm. He eats a vegan diet, exercises regularly, and enjoys exploring the wilderness. Harmony with nature tops his priorities. To learn more about Steve, please visit: http://wildsteve.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Triker's World. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Five days on a Catrike 700 – North Oregon Coast

  1. Jerry Forster says:

    Great pictures, I’m jealous! Can’t wait to read about your trip. Glad you made it safely once again.

  2. Trike Hobo says:

    Well, I’m not going to be writing my usual day by day telling of this northern coast trip Jerry, as there were other goals this time around, one of which was giving the 700 its first true road warrior test. I’ll be spending my time creating that material soon, and then also begin writing on a new project I’ll be announcing down the road a piece. So far, I’ve managed to remain intact while touring – guess I’d rather “go” while out pedaling than in an old-folks home. Thanks for the caring!

  3. Alonzo L Savage (Trike rebel) says:

    Fabulous photo’s Steve and I notice that your sleeping bag isn’t the usual ‘mummy’ shape.
    Good to hear that the 700 works OK with your fast n light philosophy. But do I sense a hint of concern in your report about the squigglyness of the rear wheel with a heavy load? I hope not as that could severely hamper your expeditions. Then again maybe it has got something to do with you having been used to the rigidity of the smaller wheel on your Qnt. I know from my own trip to France on a fully loaded bike that the wobbly sensation can be quite alarming but perfectly safe. Although my wheels were laced with s/s double butted spokes the bike still handled like a stranded whale until I got used to it.

  4. Trike Hobo says:

    Hi Alonzo,

    The sleeping bag in that photo is my warm weather synthetic bag that I use whenever touring the coast in September, usually a warm month with sunshine. Often, I just lie atop the bag until I get somewhat chilled in the wee early morning hours, then slide inside. My other bag is a goose down four season mummy style, and is the one I use if I ride over the Cascade Range and Sierra Nevadas. Both bags fit equally well inside the stuff sack and the Radical Design side seat pod, but the cheaper synthetic bag is a bit easier to stuff than the expensive down bag.

    The squigglyness you mention is not a concern on Wild Child, as my bodyweight is only 160, and my cargo load is very lightweight. Yes, it exists to some extent, as mentioned by another rider following me, but I am not able to detect it myself while riding. A heavier rider with a 700c rear wheel, carrying heavier cargo, will result in marked sideways movement of the trike’s rear with each pedal stroke, as I have witnessed while following. This is why I will be discussing in my article the absolute need to remain very lightweight, or NOT use a Catrike 700 for touring.

    With my current setup, this trike feels rock solid, and makes a superb touring machine, even though it was specifically designed as a single purpose speed trike. In my opinion, touring on one of these triples is only recommended for a select few who can meet the criteria necessary to not exceed the trike’s capabilities.

    steve

Comments are closed.