A tire you might like …

About trike hobo

Steve Greene is a naturalist, philosopher, and teller of tales. He pursues absolute truth in all things, modifying his existence as supported by legitimate evidence. His ideological foundation rests on the respect of life, as he follows a path of health, serenity, and maximum functional longevity. He has authored eleven books, and is a noted authority on Death Valley National Park, human powered recumbent cycle touring, fitness and longevity, and professional law enforcement. Steve has not owned a petroleum powered automobile since 2008, as part of his environmental preservation paradigm. He eats an organic vegan diet, exercises regularly, and enjoys exploring the wilderness. Harmony with nature tops his priorities. To learn more about Steve, please visit: http://wildsteve.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Triker's World. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A tire you might like …

  1. Nigel says:

    I switched to Marathon Plus tires on your recommendation (thank you!) and I can safely say that it’s been a wise decision. I recently spent hours riding a gravel track where the whole trike (and me!) got a thorough beating. You can see some of it in the video below – you don’t get a good idea of the downhill speeds but it was exhilarating to say the least!

  2. Mike Swierbut says:

    Was using the regular Marathon tires and experienced 3 flats on 3 separate riding days on what I thought were well maintained, clean, smooth paved trails. The time and grief of repairing the tire on my trike while I should have been enjoying the ride left me in a bit of an unpleasant mood. After flat number 3, I decided to look into an alternative to my Marathon tires and discovered the Marathon Plus version. Since installing these new tires on my trike, I have ridden over 400 miles and have had 0 flats. The effect this has had on my mental state when riding my trike is simply amazing. No longer am I worried every time I see a bit of debris in the road. These new Marathon Plus tires have without a doubt enhanced my trike riding experience. Oh, by the way due to the narrower profile (less tire on the road) of the Marathon Plus tires, I have actually achieved higher speeds with them mounted on my trike. What a GREAT investment.

  3. Trike Hobo says:

    Can’t beat ’em! I’ve never had a flat on my trikes, and others report similar experiences.

  4. John Jackson says:

    Another fan here. They aren’t flat proof, but sure as heck flat resistant. I had one hawthorn puncture in 7500 miles so far, same set of tyres so they are long lasting too. I’ve ridden some rough and dirty paths and tracks, the treads have some brutal cuts from debris and I have winkled out bits of flints and glass now and again.

  5. Trike Hobo says:

    I’ve pulled out a long piece of stiff wire from one of mine in 2011, which bent when it reached the smartguard layer under the tread. With normal tires, that would have been a flat, but I kept on going. Up until I sold my ICE trike, I was still pulling out an occasional goathead thorn from 2009. It’s pretty darn hard to kill a Marathon Plus! So far, I have not been successful at doing so (no flats in all my triking, even with dirt road riding).

Comments are closed.