Fast ‘n Light Packing

I just created a new page that is going to be devoted to fast and light packing, for more enjoyable overland trike journeys. It is called Fast ‘n Light Packing, and is located under the Trike Touring main menu. This was a spur of the moment idea today, and since I had a moment (and not a moment more), I took a quick photo and wrote up a few paragraphs for the new page. There is not much on the page yet, but at least it’s a place where stuff can go as my mind conjures it up. Some of you overland trikers have also been learning the hard lessons of cargo overpacking on tours, and thus may well understand my desire to share this stuff. Some may still be on the learning curve, but I believe no one would want to make these treks any harder for them than they already are. There are many challenges on trike journeys without excess cargo weight being another. Fast ‘n Light travel adds to the joy of the journey. Learning the easy way is more fun, but learning the hard way is more enduring.

Fast n Light BahtroomThese are my current bathroom bag contents – very lightweight, and very fast!

About trike hobo

Steve Greene is a naturalist, philosopher, and teller of tales. He pursues absolute truth in all things, modifying his existence as supported by legitimate evidence. His ideological foundation rests on the respect of life, as he follows a path of health, serenity, and maximum functional longevity. He has authored eleven books, and is a noted authority on Death Valley National Park, human powered recumbent cycle touring, fitness and longevity, and professional law enforcement. Steve has not owned a petroleum powered automobile since 2008, as part of his environmental preservation paradigm. He eats an organic vegan diet, exercises regularly, and enjoys exploring the wilderness. Harmony with nature tops his priorities. To learn more about Steve, please visit: http://wildsteve.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Triker's World. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Fast ‘n Light Packing

  1. daytriker says:

    Steve, It finally sunk in! I’ll be the Triker wearing a Thong! :) Thank you Master!

  2. Trike Hobo says:

    You are learning Grasshopper! Wisdom comes slowly, yet once learned, lasts a lifetime. I would not recommend a thong for triking however, despite the sex appeal aspect, as the comfort level leaves much to be desired. It might be easier to just leave your dentures at home.

  3. westonfront says:

    Hair conditioner in a ‘light weight’ packing solution – surely not? You’d be better to have a good close haircut before you set off and then not carry the conditioned or the extra hair!

  4. Trike Hobo says:

    Actually, that good close haircut is what I have typically done thus far on my triking odysseys, buzzing my mop down to the barest of nubs. Yep, you’re right – it’s easy, and can be washed with plain water anywhere. Of course, once I reach my destination, the hair keeps growing, and often before I get back home, the mop is back, thus the conditioner and shampoo end up serving a purpose. I could leave my dentures home and skip the dental floss, toothpaste, and toothbrush too (ha ha). Well, that won’t be happening because I still have a mouthful of intact pearly whites, so gotta’ protect ’em.

  5. Trike Hobo says:

    Well, I just buzzed my hair down to a half-inch yesterday, and thus will leave the shampoo and conditioner at home this trip, which will only be six days, and I’ll be back home at the end for a luxurious and proper primping. I shall use brisk massage with water during my camping showers, which should do just fine with hair this short. Besides, it’s too short for bugs to take up residence, and even if they did, I can see them easily – nowhere for them to hide in this mowed lawn! Wow, my bathroom bag is unbelievably lightweight this time!!! Fast ‘n Light is the Prime Directive!

Comments are closed.