Scorpion fs26 Enduro off-road trike

For those of you looking to explore the wild backcountry of Planet Earth on a human powered recumbent tadpole trike, an outstanding solution exists that will transport you to all manner of remote countryside. A new page on Trike Asylum has been dedicated to the HP Velotechnik Scorpion Enduro, an off-road trike with full suspension, a 26 inch rear drive wheel, trail gearing, and off-road tires. Click HERE to learn more. You can access this page on TA under the MORE main menu, and appearing as the OFF-ROAD Trike Solution page.

Scorpion Enduro 18This rugged machine will get you lost in style! Leave the pavement behind for good!

About trike hobo

Steve Greene is a naturalist, philosopher, and teller of tales. He pursues absolute truth in all things, modifying his existence as supported by legitimate evidence. His ideological foundation rests on the respect of life, as he follows a path of health, serenity, and maximum functional longevity. He has authored eleven books, and is a noted authority on Death Valley National Park, human powered recumbent cycle touring, fitness and longevity, and professional law enforcement. Steve has not owned a petroleum powered automobile since 2008, as part of his environmental preservation paradigm. He eats an organic vegan diet, exercises regularly, and enjoys exploring the wilderness. Harmony with nature tops his priorities. To learn more about Steve, please visit: http://wildsteve.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Triker's World. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Scorpion fs26 Enduro off-road trike

  1. I don’t think there is more of an impractical or unsafe vehicle to attempt to ride off road than a tadpole trike no matter what tires and gearing it has. I have tried it several times as I love riding off road. I have had problems nearly every time I have tried it including tipping over a few times. Trikes are just not designed for off road use.

  2. Mark Filteau says:

    Just for the record, Enduros are also great street machines. My wife and I have owned a pair of Enduros since November of last year. We ride them everywhere. They handle dirt and shell roads like you’d expect, but they also are incredibly agile and comfortable on local streets where it is often necessary to go up on the grass and dirt sidings to avoid traffic or make a connection to a trail. We have baskets that hook onto the rear rack,mounts for grocery shopping and carrying tennis gear. The tires do offer more rolling resistance on pavement, and I wouldn’t take one on a really long rail-trail ride (we have a couple of Expeditions for that), but you can’t beat them for visibility, comfort and practicality doing errands on local streets.

  3. daytriker says:

    I think these guys would disagree with you Steve,

  4. Trike Hobo says:

    Actually, I have no opinion on this trike, as I have never ridden one. As a writer, I see myself as someone who shares possibilities with others, and ultimately they will decide what works for them. My goal is to simply excite the mind with potential of what exists, and thus the verbiage regarding the Enduro.

  5. Trike Hobo says:

    Thanks for sharing Mark! I can imagine the Enduro, just like the street version, would be very comfortable and useful for a multitude of explorations and daily uses. The Enduro may provide a ride even softer than the street version of this trike, as it has large soft tires. Want to do an experiment? Exchange your Expeditions for 700s, and see if you enjoy an even greater level of touring comfort! It works for me.

  6. Trike Hobo says:

    I have personally witnessed a Scorpion fs street trike tip over while turning in a residential street at very slow speed, so I can imagine this happening. The fellow was riding with me in southern California, and I made a u-turn to take some photos of other trikers coming behind. When he made the same u-turn to alse get photos, the Scorpion tipped over on its right side, right next to my ICE Q. I reached out with my arm, but of course, there was no way I could have prevented the tip. Center of gravity is a very real concern for trike pilots. Having high seats may be nice for getting in and out of the trike, but are at high risk for tipping over, thus I always prefer a very low trike.

  7. I would not consider this off road riding. They are riding on a road … it is just a gravel road. I stand by what I said about trying to ride a tadpole trike “OFF ROAD” … impractical and unsafe!

  8. daytriker says:

    I was referring to Steve N’s comment. There are simply too many Steve’s riding Trikes it seems. haha :)

  9. Trike Hobo says:

    Steve is a popular name apparently. I could resume my original name given by my parents, that of Steven, but then again, Steven Telck has that one already, so another realm of confusion there. And there are other Steves and Stevens out there too – one just wrote to me today about trikes. Okay, I have no problem with a form of my name that no one is using currently, so go with that if desired: stevie
    See ya’ …

  10. Love that Scorpion Trike. It’s abilities and the colour. Wow!
    It seems I am a week off receiving my Greenspeed Steve. Be still my beating heart.
    I am prepared for a few strained muscles at first even though I have been warming up on a foot peddle exersize thing.

    Mary

    ☆`•.¸¸.✻Hope your day is filled´´¯`•.¸¸.٭✻.☆
    ♪. ♫ with the beautiful music of
    ☆`•.¸life!¸.✻´´¯`•.¸¸.٭✻.☆

    Date: Fri, 29 Aug 2014 12:00:51 +0000
    To: maryfairy2@hotmail.com

  11. Trike Hobo says:

    Of course Mary, I’ll be expecting some photos of your new Greenspeed. Put some online and send a link.

Comments are closed.