Aerospoke wheel for sale

Anyone seeking a nearly new 700c Aerospoke carbon fiber hybrid wheel (for a bicycle) can get a deal from Trike Hobo today. I just happen to have one up for grabs, with approximately 300 miles of road time on it. Like new (heck, it still is new), this wheel originally had me shell out $367 plus shipping, but it’s yours now for a song (well, a song plus cash, that is). For the short time it was on my Catrike 700, I was paying about $1.33 per mile (taking into account the shipping charge I also paid). Well, it was a fun experiment, so I’m not bummed. The only divergence from stock is that I removed the “Aerospoke” decals from the wheel for a custom look (you know me), and without that decal’s air drag, it’s actually faster (not measurably, but intellectually in the abstract at least). So, if you live close to the central Oregon coast, stop by and pick it up directly from me for only $200 (it’s a great excuse to spend a day at the beach, plus, you get a great deal – wow).

Thor 10Schwalbe Marathon Plus tire NOT included – sorry!

About trike hobo

Steve Greene is a naturalist, philosopher, and teller of tales. He pursues absolute truth in all things, modifying his existence as supported by legitimate evidence. His ideological foundation rests on the respect of life, as he follows a path of health, serenity, and maximum functional longevity. He has authored eleven books, and is a noted authority on Death Valley National Park, human powered recumbent cycle touring, fitness and longevity, and professional law enforcement. Steve has not owned a petroleum powered automobile since 2008, as part of his environmental preservation paradigm. He eats an organic vegan diet, exercises regularly, and enjoys exploring the wilderness. Harmony with nature tops his priorities. To learn more about Steve, please visit: http://wildsteve.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Triker's World. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Aerospoke wheel for sale

  1. Steven McWethy says:

    Was thinking about doing the same wheels on a HP Scorpin but wondered what your experience was with the wheel? I currently am blowing spokes pretty regularly.

  2. Trike Hobo says:

    Hi Steven,
    It’s a good wheel, and I enjoyed riding it on the 700. I returned to using the stock Velocity wheel because I heard an occasional cracking sound (very rare and unpredictable, but also not wanted). Turns out that Gary Bunting was hearing the same occasional noise on his Aerospoke on his Catrike 700 too. Being a retired aerospace engineer, he did some detailed checking (see his page and explantion) and found out that the drive side of the wheel was not a tight fit in the Catrike dropout (left side okay, though). Gary surmised that the noise was the wheel occasionally moving in the dropout, and based on what I was hearing on mine, I suspect he is correct. Click HERE to visit his TA page, scroll down, and see his photos and measurements for more info). This wheel may well work just fine in a Scorpion, but I cannot say for certain, having no personal experience with that trike and this wheel.
    steve

  3. Alonzo L Savage (Trike rebel) says:

    Steven, it could be that the solution to you blowing spokes is to have your wheel rebuilt with stainless steel double butted spokes. Many years ago I had the same spoke problem on my bicycle and the s/s spokes solved the issue. I hope this helps.
    Alonzo

  4. Trike Hobo says:

    Well, you’ve missed your oppotunity my triking and biking friends, as I’ve just sold the Aerospoke and am shipping it out this morning to southern California! Two hundred bucks is better than nothing, and I got some great riding with it. With this sale, I paid about 67 cents per mile for those 300 miles to ride this wheel, down from $1.33.

Comments are closed.