Pacific Crest Trail – walkin’ not trikin’

Well, sometimes I toss out subjects that are non-sequitur, things that do not follow the accepted paradigm of this tricycle website, which, of course, is human powered recumbent tadpole tricycles. Okay, but guess what! This time, it does follow the physical fitness and intrepid exploration models that are rampant on Trike Asylum. Everyone likes a great adventure, even the vicariously inclined arm-chair warriors who simply read about it. Writers who pump this stuff out on their keyboards always end up with a following of some sort, however scraggly it may be. Of course, I’m not talking about you.

Putting panniers on a trike and heading off into the uncertainty of an overland journey is an exciting way for one’s life to unfold, but not everyone is into tricycles obviously, as evidenced by our small numbers compared to bicyclists. Some folks are into foot travel for their most awesome adventures, and that is what this off-topic post is about. I do plenty of weird stuff, and summers are a good time to be doing it. Everyone prefers to trike in warm dry weather, and backpackers prefer to hike in it too. Packing for fast ‘n light trike travel essentially uses the same basic theories of cargo inclusion as found in backpacking, so reinventing the wheel isn’t necessary – I just stuff all my trike cargo into my backpack! Easy!

Rambling on, as I am known to do, this post is simply geared to waste the time of those who like reading my rants (excuse me while I get the unnecessary apologetics out of the way), having nothing to do with trikes, and simultaneously let you know that this week I’ll be hoisting a 3600 cubic inch Kelty backpack onto my backside as I step off onto the notorious (or blissful, depending on one’s penchant for walking in gigantic and very steep mountains) Pacific Crest Trail of western America. What a treat this will be!

I have been invited by a friendly flock of five feisty female fun-seekers to accompany them on the PCT in northern Washington’s North Cascades National Park, a primal wilderness region full of trees, high peaks, raging rivers, and grizzly bears. My tent will be the trusty NEMO Obi I have been using of late on my trike expeditions, a wonderful little house that weighs nearly nothing, sets up in a flash, and allows me to be one with the nocturnal world of critters in the dark and spooky forests of the north (things always seem different at night, right?). I’ll be one grungy guy with five festive gals, so I gotta’ exude a brave facade.

North Cascades National ParkOnly a few miles from Canada, this place is heavenly for wilderness buffs!

Lucky me! I’ll be hitching a couple of rides in antiquated petroleum powered vehicles to get to the starting point, with the good news being that one of them has been neutered, er, make that carbon neutralized through the Nature Conservancy carbon offset program that protects further rain forest deforestation in South America. So, while not exactly being the good steward of the air you and I breathe, as I would have if I pedaled my tricycle all the way north, I can at least marginally justify my toxic and troubling transport.

Fortunately, I found this computer long enough to type this last minute post for your amusement, but expect no further communications from me as I explore the planet by human power. There’s nobody home here at TA as you read this! It’s all on autopilot (and has been for a while). I do not take electronic gadgets with me on these things! See ya’ …

Grizzly Bear InvitationCome on out here Trike Hobo! I’m waiting for a good dinner in an Obi tent!

After this walk in the woods is complete, I’ll be spending some time hiking around a big volcano in Washington’s Mount Rainier National Park. If all this planning proceeds as planned, I should be back home in time to start pedaling Wild Child up to the 2014 Recumbent Retreat with triker Steven Telck. The wonderful days of summer are upon me!

About trike hobo

Steve Greene is a naturalist, philosopher, and teller of tales. He pursues absolute truth in all things, modifying his existence as supported by legitimate evidence. His ideological foundation rests on the respect of life, as he follows a path of health, serenity, and maximum functional longevity. He has authored ten books, and is a noted authority on Death Valley National Park, human powered recumbent cycle touring, fitness and longevity, and professional law enforcement. Steve has not owned a petroleum powered automobile since 2008, as part of his environmental preservation paradigm. He eats a vegan diet, exercises regularly, and enjoys exploring the wilderness. Harmony with nature tops his priorities. To learn more about Steve, please visit: http://wildsteve.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Triker's World. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Pacific Crest Trail – walkin’ not trikin’

  1. Down Wind Dan says:

    That bear looks like the famous last photo taken by the missing hiker.

Comments are closed.