Wild Child Modification Video

This video presentation also appears permanently (well, more or less so, because in 500 million to 2 billion years, the sun goes red giant and destroys life on Earth) on the Steve’s Catrike 700 page. This was shot today after breakfast, because it’s too rainy and windy to ride! boo hoo

About trike hobo

Steve Greene is a naturalist, philosopher, and teller of tales. He pursues absolute truth in all things, modifying his existence as supported by legitimate evidence. His ideological foundation rests on the respect of life, as he follows a path of health, serenity, and maximum functional longevity. He has authored ten books, and is a noted authority on Death Valley National Park, human powered recumbent cycle touring, fitness and longevity, and professional law enforcement. Steve has not owned a petroleum powered automobile since 2008, as part of his environmental preservation paradigm. He eats a vegan diet, exercises regularly, and enjoys exploring the wilderness. Harmony with nature tops his priorities. To learn more about Steve, please visit: http://wildsteve.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Triker's World. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Wild Child Modification Video

  1. I sure am glad you love your Catrike. I have had my Catrike Trail now since May 2009 and am sold on Catrike. I noticed in your video you mentioned that the accessory mount where you have your headlight mounted is welded on crooked. I saw a new Catrike sitting in a dealer showroom which also had this accessory mount welded on crooked. It kind of looks like Catrike is having an issue with this happening and should address this so it doesn’t happen.

    Until recently Catrike always provided a boom painted the same color as the frame of the trike, but now they only offer black. Upon changing to this they also stopped powder coating the paint onto the boom and when they did this it slightly diminished the the outside diameter of the boom to where now it is loose in the tubing it slides down into and will rotate back and forth some if the boom clamps are not tightened down sufficiently. They did not have this problem with the old booms. I test rode a new trike while the dealer was replacing my frame under warranty and I discovered this when started pedaling. The boom kept pivoting back and forth so I tightened the boom clamps to stop it. I had to tighten them a whole lot tighter than those on my trike.

    I talked to the dealer about this when I was done with the ride and he told me about this problem describing to me what I just explained. It is rather amazing the difference the paint makes that this happens. As for me, I much prefer the old booms which matched the paint of the frame and not just because of this problem. I just think they look nicer. I did not buy a new boom when I got the replacement frame so I have a silver boom from my old frame in the green replacement frame. If I would have bought a new boom it would have been black since that is all they have now. You can see a picture of my trike here including the silver boom:

    http://stevesmixedbag.wordpress.com/2014/04/24/out-of-shape/

Comments are closed.