Ultra Light Equipment

Traveling light is simply a LOT more fun! Most trikers learn this lesson the HARD WAY, from the school of hard knocks out on the open road of adventure. I learned my lessons the hard way, even though my tried and true triking buddy Matt advised me sensibly years ago. I thought I knew better, and really did think I needed all that extra cargo so I could survive an overland journey. I was not accurate, and now, five years down the road, I wish to spread the word to those entering this exciting realm of cross country triking. Weight is most definitely NOT your friend! This you MUST learn!

Trike Asylum reader Art Kneisel has shared with me a valuable link to an ultra light backpacking website, devoted to traveling light and fast, the only option for really fun treks! Backpacking? On a tricycle website? You bet! We have much to learn from backpackers, who are the masters of ultra lightweight travel. Much of my current paradigm shift away from unnecessary weight has evolved from this cross-sport study. For some ideas, click HERE and see what is available.

Backpacker Ultra LightIt’s harder for them than it is for us! Learn their lessons!

About trike hobo

Steve Greene is a naturalist, philosopher, and teller of tales. He pursues absolute truth in all things, modifying his existence as supported by legitimate evidence. His ideological foundation rests on the respect of life, as he follows a path of health, serenity, and maximum functional longevity. He has authored ten books, and is a noted authority on Death Valley National Park, human powered recumbent cycle touring, fitness and longevity, and professional law enforcement. Steve has not owned a petroleum powered automobile since 2008, as part of his environmental preservation paradigm. He eats a vegan diet, exercises regularly, and enjoys exploring the wilderness. Harmony with nature tops his priorities. To learn more about Steve, please visit: http://wildsteve.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Triker's World. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Ultra Light Equipment

  1. I have appreciated every little bit of travel suggestions/experience. Because as I get closer to the purchase of a trike for myself. It allows me to take notes of what gear/travel supplies, ect. (Such as what tires would be best, websites to look at for gear, and DIY trike stands and other helpful additions). And I am currently looking into rides that will assist me with returning to the recumbent riding skill level I used to be at. Thanks again to all of you that continuously post your suggestions/teachings for trike pilots to be. I hope to be posting pictures of my trike experiences soon.

  2. Trike Hobo says:

    You are welcome Zach! Yes, once you get the trike of your dreams, email some high resolution photos of it, you on it, and some written information about the trike and yourself, and I’ll get it posted.

  3. Bill says:

    Thanks Steve for your encouragement to “just do it”. I picked up my new Expedition 2 days ago and already have 60 km on it. I bought a computer and an helmet mirror as well but have been too busy riding to hook those up yet. Kingston, Ontario has intense sunshine some days and I already see the need for one of those OR hats you wear. Thanks for all the details you share with us wannabees and riders. I’ll be readin’ ya.
    BillEbob

  4. Trike Hobo says:

    Life is short – Live it! Love it! Ride the trike of your dreams! Oh yes!

Comments are closed.