Steve’s ICE Qnt trike available for purchase

PCTA (47)The ICE Qnt on the road in 2013, loaded for the long haul. Be a trike gypsy – this rig is ready to go!

>> PRICE UPDATE (October  15, 2013): $1900 cash at RCC and it’s your Q. I’m stoked about the new trike, so am eager to sell my trusty steed now. This updated price does not include the Arkel GT-52 pannier system. If you want the Arkels, they will be $200 (which includes outer rain covers). New price for Arkels with outer rain covers is $439. If you want both the trike with its upgrades and the Arkel panniers, price is $2100.

* * *

For any triker out there who is seeking a high quality and road-proven recumbent tadpole trike for overland journeys, here is an option you may wish to consider: I am placing my 2007 ICE Qnt trike up for sale. Manufactured by Inspired Cycle Engineering in England, this tricycle has logged enough long-haul mileage to know it gets the job done well – it is a mount on which the rider can depend regardless of the terrain or conditions. The trike remains in excellent condition, being well cared for.

To read more about this trike, click HERE to visit a page on this website about it. Here is the Craig’s List LINK, which contains additional photographs, and some fun hype about Trike Asylum. I was even crazy enough to post on Crazy Guy On A Bike, even though this is a trike – here is that LINK for those with nothing else to do.

The Q has taken me on three extended overland journeys since 2009, with no breakdowns or flat tires. A link in the chain broke on the latest journey (the Pacific Coast Tricycle Adventure), which was a result of my decision not to replace the chain prior to departure. I figured it had one more trip on those links, but I was incorrect in that assessment. The trike itself has always taken me the distance without complaint. The front crankset has 26-39-52 rings with 170 mm crankarms. The rear cassette is an 11-34 configuration. These numbers allow traversing huge mountain ranges with loaded panniers. I repaired the chain successfully, and it got me over the road the final days of the journey, but I recommend a new chain be installed forthwith, along with the possibility of replacing the rear cassette at the same time. The front crankset is fairly new, and not in need of replacement.

Touring Cargo Paradigm

Here are the panniers, and how I pack them for the road

With the trike, I am selling the two Arkel GT-52 rear panniers (shown above) and the Arkel TailRider trunk (shown above). I am retaining the two yellow Radical Design side seat pods for my new trike. I am also retaining the headlight, taillight, strobe, happy face flag, and Road Morph tire pump. All other items go with the trike at time of sale, such as two CamelBak 100 ounce water bladders with seat slings and tool pouches. This trike is already well documented on Trike Asylum for your inspection.

PCTA (697)The ICE Qnt, fully loaded on the PCTA, north of Big Sur, California in September 2013

Qnt Side Qnt Front Side Qnt Rear Side Qnt Divine

The proceeds from the Q’s sale will allow me to acquire a new speed trike so that I can get down the road a bit quicker than on the Q (which is pretty darn quick in its own right). I have a shortlist of two trikes I am currently considering. The Q has served me exceptionally well for nearly five years now, and I am confident it will continue to do so for the new owner if maintained well as it has been to date. ICE builds trikes outstanding in their field, and ICE owners ride mounts upon which they can always depend!

Email wildernessrogue (at) gmail (dot) com if interested in purchase – subject line: “Q Sale” – serious inquiries only please. Thanks for your interest.

About trike hobo

Steve Greene is a naturalist, philosopher, and teller of tales. He pursues absolute truth in all things, modifying his existence as supported by legitimate evidence. His ideological foundation rests on the respect of life, as he follows a path of health, serenity, and maximum functional longevity. He has authored ten books, and is a noted authority on Death Valley National Park, human powered recumbent cycle touring, fitness and longevity, and professional law enforcement. Steve has not owned a petroleum powered automobile since 2008, as part of his environmental preservation paradigm. He eats a vegan diet, exercises regularly, and enjoys exploring the wilderness. Harmony with nature tops his priorities. To learn more about Steve, please visit: http://wildsteve.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Triker's World. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Steve’s ICE Qnt trike available for purchase

  1. Ivo says:

    I think you were expecting this question: what’s it gonna be, your next trike?

  2. Steve Greene says:

    Yes, I was expecting that question. I am indeed a trike gypsy, but now I would have to be a trike psychic to answer that, ha ha. Of course, I have a pretty good idea what it will be. I have even thought out the trike’s configuration and accessories. I have shared my shortlist with a couple of fellow trike nomads, but they are remaining mum at my request. I could always change my mind, or I might find a deal I can’t resist. Who knows? If I let the cat out of the bag this soon, prior to even selling the Q, all the readers won’t keep coming back to TA to discover the ultimate answer to your question. So, Ivo my friend, you might now realize this question shall remain unanswered at this time. Ahh, the exquisite delight of anticipation is soaring as I contemplate it all (of course, I am spending every waking moment right now compiling and organizing the media from the PCTA, so trike purchases will have to wait a bit). See ya’ …
    steve

  3. Down Wind Dan says:

    Hi Steve, anticipation is half the appreciation when it comes to wondering what it will be next. The lighter weight tadpoles would , no doubt, be the fastest. Ever thought of a carbon trike ? Bit pricy but I sure liked the idea. I understand they may be available now with some augmentation for your human efforts.

  4. Steve Greene says:

    Hint: carbon it will be not. I have spent some time today online exploring comparisons, owner evaluations, and specs. I am getting close to a final decision, in my own head at least. It will be black. It will be fast. It will be lightweight. It will be slightly modified to allow my overland journeys when needed, but will serve as one heck of a quick day ride machine much of the time. It will be easier to sleep on if necessary on my trips (I slept on the Q one night at the north end of the Golden Gate bridge on the PCTA). With black bags, black flag, black spandex, and no reflectors, stealth camps will be much easier ;-)
    See ya’ …

  5. Alonzo Savage (Trike rebel) says:

    How about a Vortex with all the carbon and titanium bits from ICE maybe you could buy one at reduced price though perhaps the total lack of suspension would put you off. Your Q has served you well and you’d be hard pressed comfort and quality wise to beat one of ICE’s full suspension models. The way they fold is mind blowing.

  6. tadpolerider says:

    Ah come on Steve. You can tell me! :)

  7. Steve Greene says:

    Yep – no one else is listening – right? Besides, I have to sell the Q first (there are two interested parties already). I won’t be taking delivery on the new trike until I return to Oregon (no taxes up there). All I’m attempting to figure out now is the chainring configuration (that will drive you nuts when you need to trek overland with a load, while also achieving mind-blowing speed on local day rides). Patience Grasshopper.

  8. deniselanier says:

    Just seems to me that articulating your process of evaluating the various new trike options would be really beneficial to folks who’re considering a similar purchase.

    Dude, I thought Trike Asylum was about SHARING information, not withholding it.

    Is my guilt trip working yet? :0) (can’t blame a girl for trying!)

  9. Steve Greene says:

    Well, I have narrowed it down to two candidates for my short list. Since I cannot say for sure myself, it would be premature to satisfy curious minds this early. Heck, I’ve been known to change my mind at times. If I put something out there, it may result in subconscious mind altering in my head, clouding my final deliberations. My head is already in an alternative reality as it is, so I guess you all will have to be curious a tad longer, ha ha. I will be acquiring the new steed once back in Oregon (no tax, and I won’t have to figure out how to get it home – Amtrak doesn’t do trikes to well, I would imagine, if I take a train). Ahh, Denise, don’t you just love a great suspense story? And no, I won’t buckle under pressure at the RCC either, not even if Luke gives me those pleading eyes of his! See ya’ …
    stevie boy

  10. Steve Greene says:

    I’ve been sweet talked by a few girls in my time, and usually I have caved, but nowadays, I can see it coming! Yep, I don’t imagine I’ll be getting much sleep tonight. My head is hanging mighty low right now, waaa. Okay, my evaluation of these trikes is based on reading as much rider feedback as I can, keeping manufacturer hype to a minimum in my overloaded brain. It’s the road that tells the tale, not the boys and girls in the advertising meetings!

  11. Steve Newbauer says:

    Well, hey, getting it home shouldn’t be a problem. Just hop on it and pedal away … ‘spin and grin’ if need be. But I can’t blame you for waiting as far as saving money on tax.

  12. Ivo says:

    Hi Steve, why not tell us which trike it’s gonna be, buy the trike at your homestate and let the taxes be used to provide decent bike/trike-paths.?

  13. Steve Greene says:

    I cannot tell what I myself do not even know for certain yet. However, it will be one of two of the fastest trikes made. Okay, now your homework for tonight is to find out which two standard production trikes traditionally battle for world’s fastest. That ought to narrow things down a bit, eh?

  14. Steve Newbauer says:

    Oh, a Windcheetah, huh? :)

Comments are closed.