Helmet Sun Visor

the visor that comes with the Specialized Instinct helmet

Here is some news from trike pilot Alonzo regarding keeping the sun out of our eyes while triking towards that glowing orb 93 million miles away:

* * * * * * *

Hi Steve,

Re-read ‘The Overland Triker‘ for the umpteenth time and noted your comment about pathetic little bills as peaks for helmets. One of my ‘training’ rides has me facing into the early morning sun on one stretch. The sun can be so bright that in the past I had to ride with one hand off the bars to shield my eyes.

A search of the net found me buying a Bell helmet peak, the kind used in moto cross. As it is made of a thermoplastic I managed to heat it up and shape it to fit my helmet.mI then fixed it on using velcro tape which was ok until i hit a strong headwind at which point it unstuck itself slightly.

Back home I repositioned it and, using the holes in the side of the peak that fit a Bell helmet, I drilled a small hole on each side of my helmet.  Then using numberplate screw and Araldite (similar to gorilla glue) I stuck the peak back on and clamped it on both sides until the glue set hard. I have to say that the helmet is well used so maybe don’t drill a brand new lid but I now have a sun shade that doubles as a rain canopy to keep some of our English rain off my spectacles.  I’ve tried motorcycle goggles to keep rain/spray off my spec’s but one or the other tends to steam up.

My wife’s helmet has the same type of peak but as her helmet is a Bell model fitting was much easier. I’ve had my trike for 4 years now and cant recall ever riding in rain as bad as this mornings. Well at least I found out that the rainproof top that I used to cycle in isn’t rainproof on a trike.  So, as 7of 9 used to say (Star Trek) “We are the Borg – we will adapt!” As a triker I too  will adapt probably by dragging my hiking waterproof top everywhere.

That’s it for now from rain sodden England.
Trike on kiddo.

Alonzo L Savage

About trike hobo

Steve Greene is a naturalist, philosopher, and teller of tales. He pursues absolute truth in all things, modifying his existence as supported by legitimate evidence. His ideological foundation rests on the respect of life, as he follows a path of health, serenity, and maximum functional longevity. He has authored ten books, and is a noted authority on Death Valley National Park, human powered recumbent cycle touring, fitness and longevity, and professional law enforcement. Steve has not owned a petroleum powered automobile since 2008, as part of his environmental preservation paradigm. He eats a vegan diet, exercises regularly, and enjoys exploring the wilderness. Harmony with nature tops his priorities. To learn more about Steve, please visit: http://wildsteve.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Triker's World. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Helmet Sun Visor

  1. Nigel says:

    Nice advice Alonzo. Thanks for sharing Steve.

    I don’t have a mesh seat like the ICE Trikes – any advice for keeping my seat dry? It getting wet is putting me off triking in the rain.

  2. eric (catrike expedition) says:

    “…triking towards that glowing orb 93 million miles away…”

    that’s a helluva long way: better get rollin’!!!

  3. Brown Daniel says:

    Gotta admitt it can get a bit damp in merry old England. Spent three weeks there a coupe of years ago and it only rained twenty one days.

  4. Steve says:

    Think any brand of sunscreen will get the job done?

  5. Alonzo Savage (Alphonsodondoogleberry) says:

    Hi Nigel,
    IIf you know someone with a sewing machine you could buy some ripstop nylon about 1 metre should be enough. Then using paper make a patern of your seats seating area, add a seam allowance, then add a strip maybe 6″ wide around the perimeter of the patern. This piece once sewn to the front bit will fit part way around the back of the seat and will require a seam around the edge for some cord. Fit the cover and pull the cord to act as a drawstring. Anyone with a sewing machine will know what I mean.
    When you’ve got a reasonable fit you can leave the cover on or more likely just use it,
    like a pannier rain cover, over your seat when it’s raining or when you leave your trike.
    My wife and myself have a system for fabric things like this; I design them and she makes them.
    If you need more help email me and I’ll send you my phone number.
    Good luck.
    Alonzo

Comments are closed.