ICE in Boise

My good friend David Wright, long time backcountry wanderer of the Great Basin, Death Valley, and the Owens Valley, sent me some photos a while back from his trip to the Boise, Idaho region. He now lives in Winnemucca, Nevada. David was one of my three correspondents who kept the Badwater blog alive during my Death Valley Tricycle Expedition in 2009.

Downtown Boise Idaho

Well, it’s no secret that Dave thinks I’ve gone somewhat sick in the brain ever since selling my pristine 2005 Nissan Xterra in 2008 for a measly $14,000, half the price of new. He, along with other friends of mine, like Jack Freer who ran expedition security for me, is still scratching his head wondering why I’ve abandoned petroleum powered vehicles for a bean and rice powered vehicle. Oh well, at least they both still correspond with me!

Anyway, I thought you might like to see that this dedicated 4×4 explorer was thinking of me, however transient the impulse, during his Boise trip, when he beheld a wise man cranking down a Boise main street on his ICE Q. So, you see, once you influence normal people with your trike, they gradually begin seeking out these things. The forces of the universe brought Dave and this ICE triker together, just so we’d have a new post today!

By the way, if you know who these two trike pilots are, or are one of them, please post a comment here with your story on how you use your trike!

Here is what he wrote to me with the photo:

Hello Steve:

My wife and I are spending a few days in Boise, Idaho. We are staying in a hotel in the downtown district near the capital. As we were enjoying the evening taking a drive along the old avenues in the evening sun, I came across this recumbent and I thought I’d send him to the Oregon coast.

Dave Wright

ICE Trikin’ –  The only way to navigate Boise streets!

Here is a Catriker captured by Dave the next day:

There’s a guy on a quad in the background.

About trike hobo

Steve Greene is a naturalist, philosopher, and teller of tales. He pursues absolute truth in all things, modifying his existence as supported by legitimate evidence. His ideological foundation rests on the respect of life, as he follows a path of health, serenity, and maximum functional longevity. He has authored eleven books, and is a noted authority on Death Valley National Park, human powered recumbent cycle touring, fitness and longevity, and professional law enforcement. Steve has not owned a petroleum powered automobile since 2008, as part of his environmental preservation paradigm. He eats an organic vegan diet, exercises regularly, and enjoys exploring the wilderness. Harmony with nature tops his priorities. To learn more about Steve, please visit: http://wildsteve.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Triker's World. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to ICE in Boise

  1. Bob Shaver says:

    The last two of those pictures are me, commuting to work at about 8 AM. I have a fluorescent helmet cover, an orange windbreaker, an orange Catrike Speed, and a Catrike flag. In the winter I have a clear lexan flagpole lit with 20 LEDs. Bob Shaver

  2. Bob Shaver says:

    We have a recumbent group in Boise, and I have met the ICE rider, but I don’t remember his name. It is a nice bike, and he has a trailer he tows with a kid in it.

  3. Steve says:

    Thanks Bob for the insider information! You’re THE MAN when it comes to trikes in Boise! And now, with the availability of the book worldwide, everyone will know it. See ya’ … Steve

Comments are closed.